Membership Information

Pollination Symposium


Statutes (PDF) Regulations (PDF) Council 2014 (PDF) Membership Form 2010 (WORD)

This International Commission was founded in 1950, by Anna Maurizio (Switzerland), during a Botanical Congress in Stockholm. It was named the International Commission for Bee Botany (I.C.B.B.). In 1985, the Commission was renewed and its name changed to The International Commission for Plant-Bee Relationships (I.C.P.B.R.), and in 2011 the name was amended to The International Commission for Plant-Pollinator Relationships (I.C.P.P.R.) which is better fitted to the objectives of the Commission.

According to its Statutes, the objectives of the Commission are to:

  1. Promote and coordinate research on the relationships between plants and bees of all types. This research includes studies of insect pollinated plants, bee foraging behaviour, effects of pollinator visits on plants, management and protection of insect pollinators, bee collected materials from plants e.g. nectar and pollen, products derived from plants and modified by bees.
  2. Organise meetings, colloquia or symposia related to the above topics and to publish and distribute the proceedings.
  3. Collaborate closely with national and international institutions interested in the relationships between plants and bees, particularly those whose objectives are to expand scientific knowledge of animal and plant ecology and fauna protection.

The I.C.P.P.R. is one of the 82 scientific commissions of the I.U.B.S. (International Union for Biological Sciences) iubswhich is connected to the I.C.S.U. (International Council of the Scientific Unions). The General Assembly consisting of all the members
      The Working Groups
      The Council

The Council plays a prominent role in coordinating the Commission`s activities. This steering body of the Commission comprises the leaders of the working groups and three Executive Officers : the Chair, the Vice-Chairm and the Secretary-Treasurer. Twelve other Council members are ordinary councillors, whose task is to contribute to the development of the I.C.P.P.R. by recruiting new members, representing the Commission in other scientific bodies and forwarding suggestions for changes or improvement of the I.C.P.B.R. functioning. They have to be active in a relevant area of bee research. They can be consulted by the Executive Officers. The Secretary, in agreement with the Chairman, supplies news of the Working Groups to all members of the Commission, through a yearly circular. The Secretary also reports to the I.UB.S. on the I.C.P.P.R. activities and edits a Directory once members have returned a yearly questionnaire (membership form) where they confirm their membership and references. The membership is free.

How to Join

CLICK HERE to fill out the online version of the ICPPR Membership Form.

Executive Officers

Dr. Peter Kevan (email Dr. Peter Kevan)
School of Environmental Sciences - Bovey
University of Guelph
Guelph, Ontario
N1G 2W1

Vice Chair:
Dr. Connal Eardley (email Dr. Eardley)

Vice Chair:
Dr. Carlos Vergara (email Dr. Vergara)

Dr. Job van Praagh (email Dr. van Praagh)

Other Council Members

Jian-Dong An
Amots Dafni
Jian-Dong An
Anon Dag
Bernard Vaissere
Blande Viana
Caroline Gross
Carolin Mayer
Breno Freitas
Rufus Isaacs
Javier Quezada-Euan
Massimo Nepi
Osman Kaftanoglu
Peter Neuman
Wasantha Punchihewa
Theodora Petanlou
Siviram Venkataramegowda


Working Groups

Nectar Working Group - Chair: Massimo Nepi (Italy) (email Dr. Nepi)
Pollination Working Group - Chair: Simon Potts (UK) (email Dr. Potts)
Bee Protection Working Group - Chair: Helen Thompson (UK) (email Dr. Thompson)
Policy & Regulation Working Group - Chair: Vernon Thomas (Canada) (email Dr. Thomas)


Other Working groups that have been proposed

Pollination Conservation Task Force