Dr. Cezar Khursigara wins the 2016 Fisher Scientific Award Fisher Scientific



This award is given to stimulate and recognize new researchers in the microbiological sciences. The award comprises \$1,500.00 and an inscribed scroll. More information about the award and the nominations process is available soon.

Dr. Cezar Khursigara, University of Guelph

I first became fascinated with the world of bacteria during a summer work-study program at Ryerson University. Under the guidance of Dr. Debora Foster, I studied how pathogenic bacteria such as enteropathogenic and enterohemorrhagic E. coli cause disease in humans. I then obtained my Ph.D. at McGill University, where I elucidated the mechanisms of iron-uptake by Gram-negative bacteria under the supervision of Dr. James Coulton.

Through this work I realized how visualizing molecular interactions using microscopy and high-resolution structural techniques could complement and greatly extend conclusions drawn from biochemical and molecular methods. This insight prompted me to become a Visiting Fellow in the lab of Dr. Sriram Subramaniam at the National Institutes of Health. Here we developed cutting-edge cryo-electron microscopy techniques, and combined these with molecular and biochemical methods, to investigate the architecture of receptor complexes involved in bacterial chemotaxis.

In 2009 I set up my laboratory at the University of Guelph, where we continue to apply this multidisciplinary approach to study the structure and function of protein complexes involved in complex biological processes. We are particularly interested in the macromolecular assemblies that govern bacterial cell division, cell-to-cell interactions, biofilm formation, motility and chemotaxis. Moreover, with the emergence of a growing number of multidrug resistant bacteria there is a pressing need to identify new drug targets. Accordingly, these essential bacterial processes provide a number of exciting candidates.

This lecture is made possible with the financial support of Fisher Scientific. Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is greatly appreciated





Call for Nominations: 2016 Fisher Scientific Award

Object of Award: The Fisher Scientific Award is given to stimulate and recognize new researchers in the microbiological sciences.

Eligibility: All members of the CSM/SCM who have completed their last degree during or after 2005 are eligible. The nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to research or to the development of the discipline for which the award is made and must still be actively engaged in this work. The individual is one who is starting a research career and will not be judged by comparison to seasoned researchers.

Award Lecture: The award winner will present a 40 minute talk on the research for which the award was given during the Amnual Conference. This year the Conference will be held at the University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada, from June 12 to June 15, 2016. The award winner has to provide a review of the talk for submission in the Canadian Journal of Microbiology (CJM) which is published by the NRC Research Press. The award consists of a cheque in the amount of \$1,500.00 and an inscribed award scroll which will be presented at the President's Banquet at the conclusion of the Conference. **Travel expenses incidental to receiving the award are not reimbursed.**

Nomination Process: Two letters of nomination from qualified microbiologists not closely associated with the nominee are required (letters from thesis supervisors, PDF supervisors, manuscript co-authors and family members will not be accepted). These letters must describe the specific contribution the individual has made. In addition, a curriculum vitae should be supplied. The curriculum vitae should include detailed bibliographical data pertaining to education honours and experience, verified degree dates and a list of publications. All materials should be submitted by e-mail to the CSM Secretariat: info@csm-scm.org.

The Nomination Deadline is April 15th, 2016.

Method of Selection: The Award Review Committee will comprise three members of the CSM Council (Past-President, Meetings Secretary, Education Committee Chairperson) and two Editors of the Canadian Journal of Microbiology. The Award committee will review the nominations and select the recipient of the award. It is understood that should there be no qualified candidate in any given year, the award will not be granted. Unsuccessful nominations from previous years may be nominated.

Previous Recipients of the Fisher Scientific Award:

2015 Sean Crowe	2003 François Jean
2014 Catherine Paradis-Bleau	2002 Roberta Fulthorpe
2013 Josh Neufeld	2001 Marcelo Gottschalk
2012 Brian Coombes	2000 Michael G. Surette
2011 Mariela Segura	1997 Richard Belanger
2010 Steve Hallam	1996 Keith Poole
2009 John Brumell	1995 J.R. Lawrence
2008 John McCormick	1994 Michael F. Hynes
2007 Fiona Brinkman	1993 Mario Jacques
2006 David Heinrichs	1991 B. Brett Finlay
2005 Charles Dozois	1990 Reggie Y.C. Lo
2004 Lyle Whyte	

CSM would like to thank Fisher Scientific for their ongoing support of this award. Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is much appreciated.