# **PHILONEWS**

#### June 2007

#### From the Chair

There will be several administrative changes in the department over the summer. Mark McCullagh completes his term as Graduate Coordinator on July 1. Many thanks to Professor McCullagh for his outstanding work in this role over a period of significant growth and positive changes in our graduate programs. It is clear to all of us that he has developed a deep fondness for administrative work. Omid Payrow Shabani will be the incoming Graduate Coordinator.

Thanks also to Jay Lampert for his outstanding service as Undergraduate Coordinator. Among many other accomplishments, Professor Lampert led a curriculum revision process that was given final approval by Senate early this month. On July 1 Patricia Sheridan will take over as Undergraduate Coordinator.

On August 1 I will be assuming a new role as Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research in the College of Arts. The Dean has begun an internal search for a new departmental chair. The search should be completed and the new chair ready to begin on August 1. I'll have a (small!) office in the department and continue to teach and participate in departmental affairs.

I would like to thank Stephanie Michelle, the Administrative Assistant in the department, for her exceptional work over the last three years. Ms. Michelle has done about half the chair's work and a whole lot more to keep the department running so well.

For me, the main benefit of being chair has been the opportunity to work closely with students, staff and faculty in the department. Over the last three years I have been consistently impressed by everyone's enthusiasm and willingness to take on departmental projectswhether it is a little thing like choosing a paint colour or a very big thing like tenure-track hiring.

Thank you for being so collegial and supportive. – *Andrew Wayne* 

## New Faculty

The Philosophy Department will be welcoming Maya Goldenberg, who has been hired as a new faculty member of the College of Arts Bachelor of Arts and Science Program.

Dr. Goldenberg received her PhD from Michigan State University, and has recently been a Post-Doctoral Fellow at the Women's College Hospital Research Institute at the University of Toronto.

Her current research examines how evidence based medicine (EBM) affects women's health and how it will play out in the

MacKinnon 348 Tel: 824-4120 Fax: 837-8634 Email: philchr@uoguelph.ca www.uoguelph.ca/philosophy context of new theoretical movements in women's health research involving the body and embodiment.

#### **New Department Secretary**

The department is pleased to announce that Pamela Speers has been hired as our new full-time department secretary. Welcome, Pam!

#### SSHRC/OGS Results

Jing Long has been awarded a SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship (and has also been offered, and has declined, a Doctoral OGS).

Evan Clarke, Cherilyn Keall and John Lundy have each been awarded a Doctoral OGS. Cherilyn currently holds a SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship.

Nathan Harron, Gregory Kirk, Belinda Piercy and Kaitlin Schwan have each been awarded a Masters's OGS.

# Carr-Wiggin Graduate Award

I am happy to announce that this year's winner(s) are:

Evan Clarke (MA) for his paper "Badiou and Agamben through Paul" (submitted to *Symposium*)

and

Dr. Victor Biceaga for his paper "Temporality and boredom" (published in the *Continental Philosophy Review* Volume 39, 2006)

Congratulations Evan and Victor!

A big thank you to the judges: Ken Dorter, Jeff Mitscherling and Jay Lampert (sub-judge)... (and me)! – *Karen Houle* 

# **Kipp Hunter Prize**

I am happy to announce that this year's winner is Jason Ferreira

"Anomalous Monism, Supervenience, and the Charge of Property-Epiphenomenalism"

Jason has just finished his 6<sup>th</sup> semester, and is a double Philosophy-Political Science Major.

Congratulations Jason!

A big thank you to the judges who had their work cut out for them reading so many fine papers across such a range of topics!: Trish Sheridan, Karen Wendling, Karyn Freedman (and me)! – Karen Houle

# New Graduate Students for Fall 2007

We welcome the following students to our M.A. program:

Mark Adams: Plato on the hero; phenomenology

Charlene Elsby: William James and empathy

Jennifer Friis: Merleau-Ponty and the body

Jeremy Hogg: Logic, Phenomenology, Metaphilosophy

Maria Jiminez Diez: Applied Moral and Political philosophy

Ryan Krahn: Gadamer, Kant's aesthetics

Nolan Little: Analytic approaches to German Idealism

Brooke McIntosh: Heidegger and Derrida vs metaphysics

Elisabeth Paquette: Merleau-Ponty, human nature

Boyana Peric: Epistemology, Philosophy of science and Feminism

Devin Pratt: Modal realism and Logic

John Yolkowski: Ethics and Selfhood

We welcome the following students to our PhD program:

Joseph Arel: Continental philosophy

Nahum Brown: Continental philosophy

Richard Duchalski: Trust and Morality

Matthew Furlong: Social and Political philosophy

Daniel McDonald: Heidegger and Habermas

Rebecca Olivier: Hume and Merleau-Ponty

Karen Robertson: Irigaray's and Heidegger's nonnormative ethics

Brian Rogers: Heidegger and Dooyeweerd on time and temporality