Procedures for Department Meetings

- 1. Department Meetings are open to all members of the Department, including faculty, staff, undergraduate and graduate students, and Sessional Instructors.
- 2. Only members of the Philosophy Department Council are entitled to vote at Department Meetings. The Philosophy Department Council consists of all full-time faculty (including CLAs), a representative chosen at the start of the year by the Graduate Students (or their designate), and a representative chosen at the start of the year by the Undergraduate Philosophy Society (or their designate).
- 3. On occasion, the Philosophy Department Council may need to meet *in camera* and other attendees will be asked to leave the room.
- 4. We will have formal motions for issues that are to be voted on, and these motions should in general precede discussion of the issues.
- 5. We will not have formal motions to approve agendas or minutes or to adjourn.
- 6. We will take attendance at the start of the meeting, for the minutes. Attendees are asked to arrive promptly.

Author: Andrew Bailey Date: November 29, 2007