People

Natasha Aleman

Email: nalema01@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Research Paper

Research Interests: Hispanic and Black American experiences with police and police use of force, and Hispanic and Black American perceptions of and confidence in law enforcement in the U.S. criminal justice system.

Taylor Angeli

Email: tangeli@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interests: The lasting effects of the criminal justice system, with a focus on youth crime, mental heal issues, and policy.

Jessica Barbosa

Email: barbosaj@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Safeguards against police conduct, police accountability and oversight in Toronto, and the attitudes of Judges in these cases.

Ciara Boyd

Email: boydc@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Key differences in the motivational factors for mass killings in Canada and the United States

Jacob Dubeau

Email: jdubeau@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-Based

Research Interest: Effectiveness of situation tables as a form of crime prevention, with a focus on the Gateway Hub in North Bay.

Kelly Hatt

Email: khatt@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The effect case precedents and the role of the prosecution and police when determining the admissibility of confessions in Mr. Big operations.

Taranpreet Heer

Email: heert@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: Racism, racial profiling, and more specifically, the border crossing experiences of visible minorities in a post 9/11 context.

Photo not available

Email: ajohns32@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interests: The role of social support services and public policy in reducing risk of justice involvement for individuals with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder.

Kona Keast-O'Donovan

Email: kkeastod@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-Based

Research Interest: The factors of decision making for those who repeatedly reoffend, reoffend while escalating the severity of their crimes, or remain dormant and comply with societal norms from that point forward.

Meghan Machado

Email: machadom@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Corrections and Canadian drug policies, particularly harm reduction approaches available in society and how they can be applied to offenders serving sentences within Canada’s criminal justice system.

Lindsay Maharaj

Email: lmahar01@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: The credibility of undercover police operations such as Mr. Big operations and how such extremities of coercion could potentially abuse rights.

Danielle McNabb

Email: dmcnabb@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The justice gap between legislative reform in sexual assault cases, and continued underreporting and low rates of conviction.

Becky McRae

Email: bmcrae01@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The effect juvenile parole conditions have on the reintegration process and how it can impact the rate of recidivism for young offenders.

Kathryn Nairne

Email: knairne@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: How the jury selection process promotes racial bias through the utilization of peremptory challenges.

Photo not available

Email: nixonj@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The potential discrepancies between bail legislation and reform and the reality of bail, accused peoples’ experiences of bail, and long-term trends.

Photo not available

Email: aomar02@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Research Paper

Research Interests: Analyzing what factors that cause youth from affluent neighborhoods and disadvantaged neighborhoods to get involved in criminal activities in comparison to those who do not.

Michaela Pollon

Email: mpollon@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: Gendered/racialized violence and the impact of sexual assault myths on victimization in sexual assault proceedings within the criminal justice system.

Aleeyah Samuels

Email: samuelsa@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: How young offenders have been sentenced, and whether the type of sentencing has influenced recidivism rates.

Charlotte Tenszen

Email: ctenszen@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-Based

Research Interest: The effects of gender politics and the politics of sexuality on Canada’s criminal justice policies.

Angelika Zecha

Email: azecha@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Intimate partner violence victimization and the Canadian criminal justice system’s response to cases of intimate partner violence.