OneDrive

 

Getting Started With OneDrive

OneDrive provides a place in the cloud where files can be stored, shared, and synced. Files can be updated and shared from any device (computer, tablet, smartphone) and can even work with others on documents at the same time. The University of Guelph provides the business version, called OneDrive for Business which is for business purposes while OneDrive is for personal purposes.  The business version provides students with 1TB of storage with the option to expand to up to 5TB. Copy or move files between the personal OneDrive and OneDrive for Business.

Back to Top


Uploading a File to OneDrive

With OneDrive for Business, files can be uploaded in three different ways. Click Upload on the upper bar to upload files or folders. Alternatively, drag and drop files or folders onto OneDrive for Business online. To do so, have a window open on the computer with the file or folder that will be uploaded. Left-click the file or folder and hold down, then drag it into the web browser window with OneDrive for Business open. Let go of the left mouse button when the file or folder hovers over the desire space (either on top of a folder to upload it inside that folder or over the documents to upload in the currently open folder). Visualization of how to upload a file in two waysOn the computer, drag and drop a file or folder to copy to OneDrive for Business on your desktop. Like with the web browser, drag a file or folder over the OneDrive for Business in the left sidebar of the desktop window and drop it there to copy the file or folder. Visualization of File Sorter 

Back to Top


Creating a File in OneDrive

To create a new file on OneDrive for Business, go to the top bar and press New. The following options are available: new folder, Word document, Excel workbook, PowerPoint presentation, OneNote notebook or Excel survey. Visualization of creating a new file or folder

Back to Top


Sorting and Viewing Files

Organize files on OneDrive using the Sort drop down menu, located in the upper right-hand corner of the browser. Order documents according to Name, Modified, Modified By or File Size, as well as selected whether the list is organized in Ascending or Descending order.
Additionally, there is the option to view documents in detail or menu tile view, Box Icons  , located adjacent to the sort button . The detail view shows the items Name, Modified, Modified By, File Size and Sharing, while the tile view shows the items thumbnail, providing a preview of the contents without opening the item. The same sorting options can be applied to both views.

Visualization of different OneDrive views

Back to Top


Downloading a OneDrive File

Download a file off of OneDrive by selecting the desired file and then clicking the Download icon.

Back to Top


Sharing Documents on OneDrive

Share the files and folders with other users while controlling the permission for each invited person. To share a file or folder, you click the “” beside the file’s or folder’s name. A menu will pop up beside it and press Share.

Visualization of document sharing windows

A new window will pop up providing options regarding what and how the document is shared. Invite people by typing their name or email address in the name field under the Invite people subtab, and choose whether they can edit or only view the document. A personal message can be included with the invitation. The Require sign-in checkbox means that the document can be shared with people outside the organization. The Send an email invitation checkbox can be disabled.

Visualization for a window to "Share 'Document'"

Use a link to share with people rather than inviting them, click the Get a link subtab on the left. You have 5 options listed below to control the permission of people who receive the link.

  • Restricted link: Only specific people can open this link. People who have the link can view, copy, or download the document.
  • View link: University of Guelph account required. People in this organization can view, copy, or download the document.
  • Edit link: University of Guelph account required. People in this organization can edit, copy, or download the document.
  • View link: No sign-in required. People outside this organization can view, copy, or download the document.
  • Edit link: No sign-in required. People outside this organization can edit, copy, and download the document.

Visualization for getting a sharable link

Once the permission level has been selected, click Create and a link will show up. You can set the expiration date which gives more control of the security of the link. The options are: Never, 1 day, 30 days, 60 days, or Custom. Regardless of the expiration date, the link can now be copied, and shared.

Visualization of options for expiration dates

The third tab Shared with lists the people the file is currently being shared with. This displays the owner of file, the permission level for each person the file is shared with. There is the option to stop sharing the file along with emailing everyone, and going to advanced settings for sharing.

Visualization of the "Shared with" list

Back to Top


Deleting and Recovering OneDrive Files

To delete a file or a folder, press “…” beside it and select Delete from the menu. A pop-up window will prompt the response, delete it (click Delete) or cancel the action (click Cancel).

Visualization of deleting a file

Deleting a file or folder in OneDrive for Business goes to the Recycle bin, as can be seen in the left side bar. Recover a file or folder in the Recycle Bin by checking a checkbox beside a file or folder and click Restore Selection. Permanently delete it by checking a checkbox and click Delete Selection. To empty the entire Recycle Bin rather than selecting all files one by one, click Empty Recycle Bin. Any files and folders in the Recycle bin will be automatically deleted after 90 days of being there.

Visualization of Recycle Bin

Back to Top


OneDrive Version History

All documents on OneDrive for Business have saved versions. Restore older versions of a document by clicking on “…” and select Version History
Visualization of selecting "Version History"
A new window will pop up with a list of all versions. See the columns for version number, modified times, modifier, and size of the modified file.  Delete all versions, or delete a specific version by clicking besides the time under Modified column. Additional, view the details of this version or restore this version. 
Visualization of options for each version history

Back to Top