Understanding Your Central Login ID

Your Central Login ID, or username, is the unique identifier for your Central Login Account that you can use, along with your Central Login Account password, to access most digital services at the University of Guelph.

For more information about how your Central Login Account is assigned and deleted, refer to one of these sections:

Obtaining Your Central Login Account

Your Central Login Account will either be assigned to you or must be requested for you, depending on your role. 

Role Method Process
Faculty Automatic Your Central Login Account will automatically be created once your appointment is submitted to and processed by Human Resources. Once it is created, you will receive an email to your personal email address that contains your new Central Login ID and Password1.
Staff Automatic

Your Central Login Account will automatically be created once your appointment is submitted to and processed by Human Resources. Once it is created, you will receive an email to your personal email address that contains your new Central Login ID and Password1.

Retired faculty and staff On request As part of your retirement discussion, Human Resources will ask if you want to keep your Central Login Account.
Graduate Student Automatic After you accept your offer of admission, your Central Login Account is created and your new Central Login ID and Password are mailed to your home address.
Undergraduate Student Automatic After you accept your offer of admission, your Central Login Account is created and your new Central Login ID and Password are mailed to your home address.
Alumni Not available Central Login Accounts are not offered to alumni. You do get to keep your account for one year after graduation, but after that you will receive a deletion notice stating the timeline for the deletion of your Central Login Account.
Sponsored user On request See Sponsored User.
Organizational account On request See Organizational Account.

1 Note: If you do not provide a personal/external email address to human resources, your departmental admin can obtain your central login ID and password for you by contacting the CCS Help Centre.

Forfeiting Your Central Login Account

Your Central Login Account may or may not expire automatically, depending on your role. Central Login Accounts are primarily deleted during bi-annual account deletion processes, occuring during the Fall and Winter semesters. Email notification is sent to all Central Login Accounts that are scheduled for deletion, with information on the timelines for the deletion as well as instructions on how to backup your account data or what to do if you feel your account was included for deletion in error.

Role Process
Faculty Deleted upon termination of your employment if requested by Human Resources, otherwise your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that follows your employment end date.
Staff Deleted upon termination of your employment if requested by Human Resources, otherwise your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that follows your employment end date.
Retired faculty and staff Unless a request is made to Human Resources to keep your Central Login Account during your retirement discussion with HR, your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that follows your retirement date.
Graduate or Undergraduate student
  • If you have not graduated, your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that occurs two years after your last completed semester.
  • If you have graduated, your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that occurs one year following your last completed semester.
Student attending on a Letter of Permission Your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that occurs following the end of the semester you attended on a letter of permission.
Alumni Your Central Login Account will be deleted during the first account deletion process that occurs one year following your last completed semester.
Sponsored user See Sponsored User.
Organizational account See Organizational Account.