Understanding Your Username

Your Username is your identification for accessing the University’s computer services. It is used in conjunction with your Password.

For more information about how your Username is assigned and deleted, refer to one of these sections:

Obtaining Your Username

Your Username will either be assigned to you or must be requested for you, depending on your role. 

Role Method Process
Faculty Automatic After being hired, your Username is mailed to your home address and emailed to your personal email.
Staff On request Your department administrator must complete the online Central Login Account Request Form.
Retired faculty and staff On request As part of your retirement discussion, Human Resources will ask if you want to keep your Username active.
If you do not have a Username, contact Human Resources.
Graduate Student Automatic After you accept the offer of admission, your Username is mailed to your home address.
Undergraduate Student - Ontario high school applicant Automatic After you accept the offer of admission, your Username is mailed to your home address.
Undergraduate Student - Other applicant Automatic After your application is received, your Username is mailed to your home address.
Alumni N/A Graduated students are notified about the email service offered by alumni affairs.  If you subscribe to that email service, your account is migrated; otherwise, your account is deleted one year after graduation.
Sponsored user On request See Sponsored User.
Organizational account On request See Organizational Account.

 Forfeiting Your Username

Your Username may or may not expire automatically, depending on your role.

Role Process
Faculty Deleted upon termination of employment.
Staff Deleted upon termination of employment.
Retired faculty and staff Deleted unless  a request is made to HR to keep your email account.
Graduate or Undergraduate student Deleted if you are not registered for 500 days (four consecutive semesters). You will be notified by email beforehand with sufficient time to respond.
Student attending on a Letter of Permission Deleted at the end of the attending semester.
Graduate of the program Deleted one year after graduation. You will be notified by email beforehand with sufficient time to respond.
Alumni Deleted after one year of inactivity.
Sponsored user See Sponsored User.
Organizational account See Organizational Account.