Lincoln Alexander Outstanding Leader Award Recipients | Gordon S. Lang School of Business and Economics

Lincoln Alexander Outstanding Leader Award Recipients

The Lincoln Alexander Outstanding Leader Award honours a Canadian whose actions and accomplishments demonstrate a commitment to leadership with particular emphasis on the values of learning, collaboration, advocacy and service.

We have been honoured to welcome the individuals profiled below to accept this award that also memorializes Ontario's former Lieutenant Governor and the University of Guelph's chancellor emeritus, the late Honourable Lincoln Alexander.


Lincoln Alexander

The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander
P.C., C.C., K.St. J., O. Ont., C.D., Q.C., Chancellor

The Lincoln Alexander Outstanding Leader Award is named after the University of Guelph’s chancellor emeritus, the Honourable Lincoln Alexander, who received the inaugural award in 2006 for his exemplary and dedicated leadership within the public service.


Frank McKenna

The Honourable Frank McKenna
P.C., O.C., O.N.B., Q.C.

Frank McKenna, former premier of New Brunswick and ambassador to the United States, was honoured for the breadth and scope of his advocacy and leadership roles, and for his commitment to public service and ethical governance.


Rick Hillier

General Rick Hillier
O.C., C.M.M., O.N.L., M.S.C., C.D.

General Rick Hillier was honoured for his military service of 36 years where he championed a 21st century model of Canadian military leadership and led the Canadian Forces through regeneration and renewal.


Photo of Richard Pound

Richard W. Pound
C.C., O.Q., Q.C.

Richard Pound was honoured for his outstanding leadership contributions to international sport and business. Pound revolutionized the Olympic movement using television and sponsorship deals to transform the IOC into a multi-billion dollar enterprise.



Louise Arbour

The Honourable Louise Arbour
C.C., G.O.Q.

Louise Arbour was honoured for her advocacy for human rights and her tenacity and effectiveness in various roles, from serving as the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights to her role as president and CEO of the International Crisis Group from 2009 - 2014.


Martin Connell

Martin Connell

Martin Connell was honoured for his leadership in social entrepreneurship within the food industry. A highly-decorated philanthropist, Connell has a long history in the non-profit sector. He also founded Ace Bakery along with his wife, Lynda Haynes.


Paul Martin

The Right Honourable Paul Martin
P.C., C.C.

The Right Honourable Paul Martin was honoured for his leadership, dedication to aboriginal issues and reform, and national and global outreach work. He was the twenty-first Prime Minister of Canada from 2003 to 2006 and Minister of Finance from 1993 to 2002.


Bill Winegard

The Honourable William Charles Winegard
P.C., O.C.

William Winegard was honoured for his dedication to education, public service and numerous charitable organizations. As one of the University of Guelph’s founding presidents, the impact of his leadership leaves a lasting mark on our campus and greater community.


Sheldon Kennedy

Sheldon KennedyC.M.

Sheldon Kennedy was honoured for his tireless commitment to advocating for child abuse victims. An abuse victim himself, he has influenced social change through his campaigning and is also at the helm of the Sheldon Kennedy Child Advocacy Centre and the Respect Group.