Campus News

Published by Communications and Public Affairs (519) 824-4120, Ext. 56982 or 53338

News Release

October 25, 2001

Faculty Association announces teaching awards

Seven professors and a university librarian have received 2001 teaching awards from the University of Guelph Faculty Association (UGFA).

UGFA’s annual awards were established in 1984 to acknowledge significant contributions to teaching by individual professors and academic librarians. “These are the men and women who not only inform but, more importantly, inspire their students,” said psychology professor Thomas Herrmann, UGFA president.

Recipients of the Distinguished Professorial Teaching Awards are honoured for making a difference both to their profession and in the lives of their students by ensuring the best instruction and research, Herrmann said. The Special Merit Award honours those who have shown innovation in their teaching development. The Academic Librarianship Award recognizes contributions and scholarly achievement in the academic community.

This year’s winners are:

Distinguished Professorial Teaching Awards

  • Peter Goddard, Department of History. Recognized for his commitment to teaching, particularly the quality of his preparation for the classroom and the level of care taken to create an effective learning environment.

  • Patricia Wright, Department of Zoology. Honoured for her ability to make even the most complex physiological systems easy to understand for students.

  • John Holbrook, Department of Mathematics and Statistics. Known for his ability to present abstract and subtle ideas in an interesting and accessible way to non-specialists while also challenging the experts.

  • Rick Upfold, Department of Plant Agriculture. Recognized for his dynamic teaching style and for creating a learning experience “unparalleled” in the undergraduate agriculture program.

Special Merit Awards

  • William Smith, Department of Mathematics and Statistics. Known for staying on top of technology and incorporating it into the classroom.

  • Jim Mottin, Department of Psychology. Recognized for passionate and inspirational teaching style.

Academic Librarianship Award

  • David Hull, Ontario Veterinary College Library, Science and Technology. Honoured for his professionalism and effective practical service orientation that benefits students, faculty and other library users.


For general information, contact the UGFA office at (519) 824-4120, Ext. 2126. For additional information on individual winners, contact the respective department or Communications and Public Affairs, (519) 824-4120, Ext. 3338.

For media questions, contact Communications and Public Affairs, 519-824-4120, Ext. 3338.

Email this entry to:

Message (optional):