People

The School of Environmental Sciences comprises: an enthusiastic student body of graduate and undergraduate students; an energetic and dedicated staff; a group of rising stars in our postdoctoral researchers; a core group of environmental science faculty members; an additional group of permanent faculty holding primary appointments in other departments and schools within the university, but cross-listed with SES; and a large number of adjunct faculty members from around the country.

Faculty in the School of Environmental Sciences conduct research, educate, and engage in service activities related to how humans impact managed and unmanaged ecosystems.  They are involved in multiple research areas (SES Research) in many parts of the world, and teach a variety of undergraduate and graduate level courses (SES Programs). To learn more about specific research and teaching activities, and opportunities, with individual faculty, please consult their profile pages via the links below.

To find someone within SES, see our key Contact List, or browse our directories by name or designation.

Directories

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Name E-mail Research Area
Anand, Madhur manand@uoguelph.ca
global ecological change, sustainability science, forest ecology, ecological modelling, biodiversity
Arnaud, Emmanuelle earnaud@uoguelph.ca
glacial geology, sedimentology, quaternary geology, hydrogeology, subsurface environments
Biswas, Asim biswas@uoguelph.ca
Dixon, Michael mdixon@uoguelph.ca
controlled environment, biological life support, space exploration, plant-environment interaction
Dunfield, Kari dunfield@uoguelph.ca
environmental microbiology, microbial ecology, soil microbiology
Gilroyed, Brandon bgilroye@uoguelph.ca
biofuels, anaerobic digestion, biohydrogen, biogas, biomass, wastewater
Glasauer, Susan glasauer@uoguelph.ca
microbial geochemistry, soil chemistry, biogeochemistry
Goodwin, Paul pgoodwin@uoguelph.ca
bacteria, fungi, plants, cellular/molecular plant-microbe interactions
Gordon, Andrew agordon@uoguelph.ca
agroforestry systems, forest ecosystem ecology, nutrient cycling, ecological modeling, bioenergy systems
Guzman, Ernesto eguzman@uoguelph.ca
bee biology, bee pathology, bee behaviour, bee genetics, bee ecology
Habash, Marc mhabash@uoguelph.ca
aquatic microbiology, microbial biofilm development and physiology, molecular mechanisms of antimicrobial resistance and catabolic genes
Hale, Beverley bhale@uoguelph.ca
metal contamination of soils, soil remediation
Hallett, Rebecca rhallett@uoguelph.ca
integrated pest management, biological control, invasive species
Heck, Richard rheck@uoguelph.ca
soil morphology, landform quantification, 3D soil models, spatial configuration of soil components
Hsiang, Tom thsiang@uoguelph.ca
tree diseases, turf diseases, fungal genomics
Hunt, Shelley shunt@uoguelph.ca
ecosystem structure and function in managed forests, forest biodiversity, forest plant community dynamics, carbon and nitrogen dynamics in forest litter and woody debris, boreal forest ecology, forest restoration
Lauzon, John lauzonj@uoguelph.ca
nutrient cycling and management, agroecosystems, manure management, soil nutrients
Lee, Hung hlee@uoguelph.ca
biodegradation, biomass conversion, environmental microbiology, pathogen detection, pentose-fermenting yeasts
Longstaffe, James jlongsta@uoguelph.ca
environmental chemistry, natural organic matter, soil chemistry, soil contamination, groundwater contamination, environmental remediation, analytical instrumentation
Marshall, Stephen samarsha@uoguelph.ca
taxonomy systematics, biodiversity, Diptera (flies), Insecta identification, faunistics
O'Halloran, Ivan iohallo@ridgetownc.uoguelph.ca
soil phosphorus, phosphorus cycling, nutrient management, phosphorus index, manure nutrient availability, nutrient runoff, water quality
Otis, Gard gotis@uoguelph.ca
speciation, asian honey bees, beekeeping development, butterfly ecology and behaviour, bee behaviour, insect conservation, emerald ash borer, ash trees, giant asian hornets
Prosser, Ryan prosserr@uoguelph.ca
Environmental toxicology; ecotoxicological risk characterization; pesticide toxicology; mollusk biology and conservation
Raine, Nigel nraine@uoguelph.ca
pollinator conservation, pollinator behaviour, impacts of pesticides on bees, insect behaviour, pollination ecology
Rooney, Neil nrooney@uoguelph.ca
food web ecology, biodiversity and ecosystem stability, environmental impact assessment, first nations traditional knowledge, fisheries management
Schmidt, Jonathan jonschm@uoguelph.ca
insect sensory and hormonal physiology, biological control and integrated pest management, ecotoxicology of Collembola (springtails), litter decomposition and composting, computational chemistry and molecular design, spider ecology
Scott-Dupree, Cynthia cscottdu@uoguelph.ca
sustainable agriculture, entomology, environmental toxicology, non- target impacts, IPM
Sibley, Paul psibley@uoguelph.ca
ecotoxicology, risk assessment, water quality, disturbance ecology, aquatic-terrestrial ecotones
Van Eerd, Laura L. lvaneerd@uoguelph.ca
nitrogen fertility, soil health, cover crops, vegetable and low acreage production, crop rotation
Voroney, Paul pvoroney@uoguelph.ca
soil biology and biochemistry, biogeochemical cycling of soil carbon, nitrogen and phosphorous, soil management, organic waste management, organic agriculture
Wagner-Riddle, Claudia cwagnerr@uoguelph.ca
Net greenhouse gas emissions from bioenergy feedstock, Micrometeorology, Methane emissions from anaerobic digesters, Farm-scale greenhouse gas emissions, Freeze-thaw nitrous oxide emissions, Fertilizer-induced nitrous oxide emissions
Warland, Jon jwarland@uoguelph.ca
agricultural meteorology, measurement and modelling of atmospheric turbulent transport, environmental instrumentation, agricultural physics
Watson, Alan awatson@uoguelph.ca
Zheng, Youbin yzheng@uoguelph.ca
greenhouse production, nursery production, green roofs, urban agriculture, water treatment, constructed wetland, sensor-based irrigation, fertilization, phytoremediation