Campus News

Published by Communications and Public Affairs 519 824-4120, Ext. 56982 or 53338

Campus Bulletin

November 12, 2006

Cross-Country Teams Win Gold

For the first time in school history, both the women’s and men’s cross-country teams have won gold medals at the 2006 Canadian Interuniversity Sports (CIS) championships.

Both teams turned in dominating performances Saturday on the Plains of Abraham. It’s the first time in 12 years that one school has left the CIS championships with both gold medals.

In addition, Gryphon Laura Moulton won an individual silver medal with a time of 17 minutes, 58.3 seconds, earning First Team All-Canadian honours. Guelph’s Rachel Cliff was named CIS female rookie of the year following an eighth-place finish with a time of 18 minutes and 32.1 seconds, and earned Second Team All-Canadian status. Gryphon Julia Beniusis also earned Second Team All-Canadian honours with her 11th place finish, 18 minutes, 51.6 seconds.

It was a repeat performance for the Guelph women’s team, who had claimed the 2005 title in Halifax. They were also crowned CIS champions in 1997. In the five-kilometre women’s race, Guelph beat out second-place McGill by 54 points and bronze medalist Dalhousie by 82 points.

The men’s team was almost as dominant in the 10-kilometre men’s event, scoring 66 points, edging out the University of Toronto by 40 points and the University of Victoria and University of Windsor, who tied for third, by 54 points. The Guelph men’s team had not won team gold since a four-year title run from 1999-2003. They had also finished first back in 1969.

Four members of the men’s team earned Second Team All-Canadian honours: Greg Hutchinson, 33 minutes, 19.5 seconds; Stephen Koziarski, Guelph, 33 minutes, 23.2 seconds; and Brendan Hunt, 33 minutes, 25.9 seconds.

In addition, Guelph’s Dave Scott-Thomas became the first coach in history to be named CIS women’s and men’s coach of the year in the same season. He was honoured for the second straight year and third time overall on the women’s side, and became the first coach in history to capture five Fred Foot Awards as men’s coach of the year.

Email this entry to:

Message (optional):

Powered by FeedBlitz