School of Engineering Awards Gala

The School of Engineering celebrated its community of alumni and friends at the 10th annual honours and awards gala, recognizing excellence in engineering. The celebration took place in the Adams Atrium of the Thornbrough Building and welcomed more than 100 alumni, friends, family, faculty, students and industry partners.

Congratulations to the 2019 winners:

  • Director’s Award of Distinction: Valerie Davidson, University Professor Emerita
  • Medal of Achievement: Robert Adams, B.Sc.Eng. ’83
  • Award of Excellence: RWDI
  • Mid-Career: Tej Gidda, B.Sc.Eng. ’96, M.Sc. ’97, PhD ’04
  • Outstanding Volunteer: Janey Piroli, B.Sc.Eng. ’96
  • Young Alumni of Honour: Kendra Sakaguchi, B.Eng. ’08

Engineering Co-Op Employer of the Year: Baylis Medical The Medal of Achievement – the highest honour awarded by the School of Engineering – went to Robert (Rob) Adams (B.Sc.Eng. ’83), in recognition of his lifetime achievement and commitment to excellence.