University of Guelph 2003-2004 Undergraduate Calendar

VIII--Undergraduate Degree Regulations and Procedures

Notes on Academic Structure


Under the University of Guelph Act the Senate is the ultimate academic authority in the University. Senate Bylaws may be consulted in the office of the Secretary of Senate. Undergraduate student senators are elected by the undergraduate students. The meetings of Senate are open to visitors who have tickets. Tickets are available from the Secretary of Senate, 4th Floor, University Centre. Senate directs the academic life of the University assisted by its boards and committees which report regularly to Senate.

Board of Undergraduate Studies

The Board of Undergraduate Studies, which meets regularly from the beginning of September to the end of June, controls all undergraduate degree programs under the authority of Senate. The Board comprises the Associate Vice-President (Academic), the University Registrar, the Associate Vice-President (Student Affairs), the Co-ordinator of Undergraduate Curriculum, the Chief Librarian, the Director of Open Learning, the Director of Agri-Food Education Programs, one College Dean, five faculty, and four undergraduate students.

Program Committee

For each undergraduate degree program there is a program committee which consists of faculty representatives, student members, staff from the Office of Registrarial Services, and a program counselor. Committees examine the general regulations relating to their program and also the particular regulations proposed for specializations within that program. Admissions policy is recommended by these committees to the Board of Undergraduate Studies and is approved by Senate. Each program committee has an Academic Review Sub-Committee which reviews grades as reported to the Registrar and determines the academic standing of each student in the program.

Senate Committee on Student Petitions

This committee assesses and disposes of academic appeals from students registered at the University of Guelph. The Senate Committee on Student Petitions consists of ten members of Senate and a chair, who is named by Senate and who may be either a student or a faculty Senator who has had previous experience on the Committee. Of the ten members of Senate, five are students and five are faculty members. The members of the committee are appointed annually by Senate on the recommendation of the Senate Committee on Bylaws and Membership.

Note: when searching for a course code replace the " * " with a blank

Admission inquiries: Admission Services ~ ~ ~ General calendar inquiries: Undergraduate Program Services ~ ~ ~ Last revision: 14 May 2003

2003 Office of Registrarial Services, University of Guelph