University of Guelph 2003-2004 Undergraduate Calendar

XIV--General Information

University Governance

The University of Guelph was incorporated by an Act of the Ontario Legislature in 1964. The Act specifies that control of the University lies with the Board of Governors and the Senate.

The Board of Governors is comprised of 24 members, including the Chancellor, the President and Vice-Chancellor, 4 persons named by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, and 18 other persons appointed by the Board, of whom 3 are faculty members named by Senate, 3 are alumni, 2 are undergraduate students elected by the undergraduate student body, 1 is a graduate student elected by the graduate student body, and 2 are non-teaching staff members (1 of whom is also an alumnus), elected by University non-teaching staff. The Board is responsible for the government, conduct, management and control of the University and its properties, revenues and expenditures, and business affairs.

The Senate has 173 members. 61 are ex-officio, including the Chancellor, the President, the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the Vice-President (Research), the Associate Vice-President (Academic), the Associate Vice-President (Student Affairs), the Associate Vice-President (Research), Associate Vice-President (Research, Agri-Food & Partnerships), the Registrar, Deans and Associate Deans, Directors of Schools, Directors of Faculties, Chairs of Departments, the Chief Librarian, the Director of Open Learning, the Director of the Centre for International Programs, the Academic Commissioner of the Central Student Association, the President of the Graduate Students' Association and the Secretary of Senate; 62 are faculty members elected on a college basis; 28 are undergraduate students elected by programs on the basis of 1 for each 500 students enrolled; 7 are graduate students elected from and by the graduate students of each college and the School of Rural Planning and Development on the basis of 1 for each 500 students enrolled; 8 are alumni elected by the Alumni Association, 3 are non-university members chosen by and from the Board of Governors, 1 is a representative of the University of Guelph Faculty Association, 2 are representatives of staff and 1 is a representative of the Librarians. The Senate has responsibility for educational policy, including the creation of faculties, departments, schools and institutes; courses of study and standards of admission and continuation of study; qualifications for and granting of degrees, including honorary degrees, and of diplomas; examinations and examiners, fellowships, scholarships and bursaries; and for the election of the Chancellor.

Note: when searching for a course code replace the " * " with a blank

Admission inquiries: Admission Services ~ ~ ~ General calendar inquiries: Undergraduate Program Services ~ ~ ~ Last revision: 14 May 2003

2003 Office of Registrarial Services, University of Guelph