Gruber Prizes 2024


Gruber Foundation


The International Prize Program honors individuals in the fields of cosmology, genetics and neuroscience, whose groundbreaking work provides new models that inspire and enable fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture.

The Cosmology Prize honors a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the universe. The Cosmology Prize acknowledges and encourages further exploration in a field that shapes the way we perceive and comprehend our universe. In doing so, The Gruber Foundation seeks to extend the pioneering legacy of, among others, Plato and Aristotle; Ptolemy and Copernicus; Brahe, Kepler, and Galileo; Newton and Halley; Einstein and Hubble.

The Neuroscience Prize honors scientists for major discoveries that have advanced the understanding of the nervous system.

The Genetics Prize is presented to a leading scientist, or up to three, in recognition of groundbreaking contributions to any realm of genetics research.


Cosmology Prize: Nominations for the Cosmology Prize are invited annually from the fields of astronomy, cosmology, mathematics and the philosophy of science. Individuals that are active in or have an appreciation for contemporary cosmological research and study may submit nominations. Individuals whose achievements have produced fundamental, advances in our understanding of the structure and evolution of the universe may be nominated. 

Genetics Prize: Nominations for the Genetics Prize are invited annually from the field of genetics. Nominations may be submitted by individuals that are active in or have an appreciation for contemporary genetic research or problems. Individuals who have made original discoveries in the fields of genetic function, regulation, transmission or variation or in genomic organization may be nominated.

Neuroscience Prize: Nominations for the Neuroscience Prize are invited annually and may be submitted by individuals that are active in or have an appreciation for contemporary neuroscience research and study. Individuals from anywhere in the world who have conducted highly distinguished research in the field of the brain, spinal cord or peripheral nervous system may be nominated. 


Each prize carries a gold medal and unrestricted cash prize of $500,000.


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Please submit the nominations through the portal found on the Gruber Prizes website. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination and OR-5 to

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online, using the application form provided on the Gruber Prizes website. Application criteria may be found on the Gruber Prizes website. Please also submit an OR-5 and a completed application to by the external deadline.

For More Information

For more information, contact or contact Please also see the Gruber Prizes website.

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Health and Life Sciences
Information and Communications Technology
Physical Sciences and Engineering
Social Sciences