Killam Prize 2024

Updated Information

New sponsor and new submission links have been added.


National Research Council Canada (NRC)


Killam Prize


The Killam Prizes are awarded to active Canadian scholars who have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to their respective fields in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences or engineering. The Killam Prizes are intended to honour distinguished Canadian scholars who have been engaged in research in universities, hospitals, research or scientific institutes or other similar institutions.


Equity, diversity and inclusion are fundamental to achieving research excellence. The National Killam Program encourages nominations of candidates whose research has consequence and impact, setting precedents and yielding transformative results that serve to build Canada’s future through advanced study.

Below are eligibility criteria to consider when submitting a nomination:
  • Individual nominations may include nomination for multiple categories, but an individual may only be awarded the Killam Prize in 1 category.
  • No individual may be awarded a Killam Prize more than once.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted for the Killam Prize; only nominations by experts in their field.
  • Killam Prizes are intended for active (not retired) Canadian scholars who have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to scholarly research. A Killam Prize is not intended as an “end-of-service” reward, as a recognition for a single great accomplishment, or in expectation of future distinguished contributions.
  • Only Canadian citizens or scholars working and living in Canada are eligible, and the prizes are awarded only to living candidates.
  • National Killam Program Office employees, members of the National Killam Program Advisory Board, or the Selection Committee may not be nominated during their term as members, and for 1 year following the end of their term.
  • The nominator and the nominee consent to disclose any information that may constitute a significant departure from generally-recognized standards of public behaviour and which is seen to undermine the public reputation of the National Killam Program.
  • A nominator may resubmit a nomination for a specific nominee as many times as desired. However, a new nomination package is required for any subsequent nomination.
Note that meeting the eligibility criteria allows candidates to be nominated for a Killam Prize. However, it does not guarantee prize receipt. The National Killam Program Office retains the right to interpret the contents of the nomination guidelines and form.


The Killam Prize is valued at $100,000. Prize recipients should contact the Canada Revenue Agency or their provincial or territorial revenue department with any tax-related questions.

Normally, one prize is awarded each year in each of the five disciplines:

  • humanities
  • social sciences
  • natural sciences
  • health sciences
  • engineering


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Nominations may be submitted through the National Killam Program  Portal.  Please also submit a copy of the full nomination dossier to

How to Apply

Full nominations include a nomination letter, biography, three letters of support, a curriculum vitae and an eligibility attestation.

For More Information

For more information, contact Please also visit the Killam Prize web-page.

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Health and Life Sciences
Information and Communications Technology
Physical Sciences and Engineering
Social Sciences