Marcus Wallenberg Prize 2023


The Marcus Wallenberg Foundation


The purpose of the Prize is to recognize, encourage and stimulate pathbreaking scientific achievements which contribute significantly to broadening knowledge and to technical development within the fields of importance to forestry and forest industries.

The Prize is awarded to recognize, encourage and stimulate path-breaking scientific achievements which contribute significantly to broader knowledge and/or technical development within all subjects relevant to the forest-based sector all over the world. The achievements may be of widely different characters and relate to subjects ranging from forest ecosystem conservation and management to process, product and service developments contributing to the sustainable development of society. The evaluation of the achievements will recognize excellent science or technological innovation alone as well as the combination of both.


“Candidate” implies an individual or a group of normally 2-4 individuals who have actively cooperated in research leading to a scientific and/or technological achievement that has had or potentially will have a significant impact on forestry and forest products related industries.

Please note that the Statutes of the Marcus Wallenberg Foundation do not allow any person to nominate himself or herself.


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Please submit the nomination directly to the Marcus Wallenberg Prize website. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination to

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online, using the application form provided on the Marcus Wallenberg Prize website. Please submit a completed application to by the external deadline. 

For More Information

For more information, contact or Please also see the Marcus Wallenberg Prize Information for Nominators for more details. 

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Physical Sciences and Engineering