New Canada Research Chair Advisory Board formed

The University of Guelph has formed a new Canada Research Chair (CRC) Advisory Committee to review college-level recommendations for nominations and renewals.

The Advisory Committee was formed in response to the CRC program's Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan, and replaces the former Validation Committee.

The Advisory group is chaired by John Livernois, Associate Vice-President Research, includes Jane Ngobia, Assistant Vice-President, Office of Diversity and Human Rights and the following faculty members:

  • Manjusri Misra, CEPS
  • Glen Van der Kraak, CBS
  • Georgia Mason, OAC
  • Kim Anderson, CSAHS
  • Tami Martino, OVC
  • Towhidul Islam, CBE
  • Ajay Heble, COA

The committee's mandate includes advising the Provost &VPA and the VPR as to the consistency of recruitment and nomination processes with the university's commitment to address any representation gap for women, persons with disabilities, Aboriginal Peoples, and visible minorities.  The committee has completed its first review of CRC nominations and renewals and the university’s six nominations for Canada 150 Research Chairs, and has made its recommendations to the Provost and VPR.

CRC nominations and renewals will be submitted on October 23 to the CRC program. Canada 150 nominations were submitted to the Canada 150 Research Chairs program on September 15.

For more information contact: Ailsa Fullwood, Manager, Strategic Research Programs

Alert Classifications
Research Policies and Guidelines

Health and Life Sciences
Information and Communications Technology
Physical Sciences and Engineering
Social Sciences