Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists 2023


SciLifeLab (Sweden), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and The Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation.


The Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists (Science AAAS website) is a global prize aimed at rewarding scientists at an early stage of their careers in recognition of the excellence among young researchers from around the world. The Prize was created to recognize that global economic health is dependent upon a vibrant research community, and we need to encourage our best and brightest to continue in their chosen fields of research. The International Prize is awarded annually to four young scientists for outstanding life science research for which they earned a doctoral degree in the previous two years.

Prize categories:

  • Cell and Molecular Biology – includes cellular and molecular processes at levels ranging from single molecule to single cell to tissue and organ systems.
  • Genomics, Proteomics and Systems Biology – includes genomics, proteomics, integrative omics and systems biology approaches, including computational, to facilitate comprehensive understanding of living cells, organisms and species.
  • Ecology and​ Environment – includes interactions between organisms and their environment, and how these processes are influenced by human activity.
  • Molecular Medicine – includes building on the molecular understanding of disease in humans to develop preventive, diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, including individualized medicine.


  • ​Entrants for the 2023 prize must have been awarded their Ph.D. between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2022. 
  • The research described in the entrant’s thesis must fall within one of the four categories. 
  • The prize will only recognize work that was performed while the entrant was a graduate student.
  • The prize will be awarded without regard to sex, race or nationality.


Each year, a Grand Prize winner is selected from the applicants to receive US$30,000  in prize money. The three other category winners are awarded US$10,000 each for their accomplishments.

The grand prize winning essay will be published in Science and essays from the three other category winners will be published online.

All four winners will be invited to Sweden during the 10th anniversary celebration to receive their prize, present their research, and meet with leading scientists in their field. The award ceremony and banquet will be held in the Grand Hôtel Hall of Mirrors in Stockholm — the original venue of the Nobel prize banquet.


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Please submit applications through the online application portal found on the Science AAAS website. Please also send a copy of the nomination and an OR-5 to

How to Apply

  • In addition to completing an online entry form applicants must submit an essay describing their thesis work in one of the qualified categories. The essay cannot exceed 1,000 words in length and may include one figure or table.
  • Applicants must also submit a one-page reference letter from their advisor or a member of their thesis committee with an assessment of the applicant and comment on the significance of the applicant’s research.
  • In addition, a list of citations, awards and relevant professional experience should be included, as well as an abstract of the thesis.
  • The application form can be found at the Science AAAS website.

Applications must be submitted through the online application portal found on the Science AAAS website. Please also send a copy of the nomination and an OR-5 to by the external deadline.


For More Information

For more information please contact or Please also visit the Science AAAS website.

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Health and Life Sciences
Physical Sciences and Engineering
Social Sciences