Candidates for CME Dean to Give Public Lectures

March 13, 2009 - Campus Bulletin

The selection committee for dean of the College of Management and Economics (CME) will present two candidates to the University community this month. Both public presentations will be held at 11 a.m. in Room 103 of the University Centre.

The two candidates will give a 20-minute talk outlining their background, experience and accomplishments that are particularly relevant to the position of dean, as well as the challenges and opportunities facing CME.

A question-and-answer period will follow each presentation. The sessions will be audio recorded and CDs will be available by calling Kim McCaughan at Ext. 53846 or in the provost’s office, Room 414 of the University Centre.

Prof. Julia Christensen-Hughes, chair of the Department of Business, will speak March 24.

Prof. David Prescott, CME's acting dean and an economics professor, will speak March 31.

A brief biography for each candidate is available online and full curricula vitae are available through the provost's office.

Members of the University community are encouraged to attend the public lectures and to provide written comments to the selection committee. Comments must be received by April 10 and can be directed to the committee by mail or by email.

All comments will be held in strict confidence and will be shared with the committee in full, provided the writer is identified. Anonymous comments will not be reviewed.

The CME dean reports to the provost and vice-president (academic). Among other things, the dean's mandate is to provide innovative leadership and outstanding management; oversee academic planning; lead the college's future growth; and build and sustain positive relationships.

Members of the CME dean search committee are: Prof. Maureen Mancuso, provost and vice-president (chair); Gavin Armstrong, B.comm student; Prof. Joachim Barth, Hospitality and Tourism Management; Diane Dobbins, manager of research and partnerships; Prof. Michael Emes, dean, CBS; Prof. Kris Inwood, Economics; Prof. Jane Londerville, Marketing and Consumer Studies; Prof. Deborah Stacey, chair of Computing and Information Sciences.

University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1