Awards Honour Excellence in Teaching, Service, Academics

June 07, 2011 - News Release

University of Guelph students and faculty members will receive prestigious awards for academic achievement, teaching and distinguished service during summer convocation.

Alisha Fernandes will receive the W.C. Winegard Medal, U of G’s top undergraduate convocation award. Named for former U of G president Bill Winegard, the award recognizes academic achievement and contributions to campus and community life. A bachelor of arts and sciences student, Fernandes holds president’s and dean’s scholarships and received an Ontario Genomics Institute award. She helped mentor new students, volunteered in Guelph and in Brazil for Project Service, and is a nationally ranked musician. She was accepted by several medical schools and plans a career in public health.

The Forster Medal, U of G’s top convocation award for graduate students, goes to Claire Windeyer, a doctor of veterinary medicine student, for research and academic performance. The award is named for the late Donald Forster, a former U of G president, and recognizes academic achievement, motivation, leadership and citizenship. An award-winning published researcher, Windeyer helped run numerous committees and initiatives in the Ontario Veterinary College.

This year’s winner of the Walter Vaughan Medal is Allison Webb. Named for a former secretary of Senate, the medal recognizes contributions of a student Senate member. A major in biomedical sciences, Webb served on the Senate priorities and planning committee and as vice-chair of the Board of Undergraduate Studies.

Governor General’s Awards for academic excellence will go to Adam Pound, a PhD student in physics (gold medal); undergraduates Stephanie Muise, human kinetics, and Rebecca Marie Smith, biomedical science (silver); and Julie Anne McInnes, an Ontario Agricultural College diploma student in food, nutrition and risk management at Kemptville Campus.

The John Bell Award for outstanding contributions to university education will be presented to Prof. Mark Baker, Department of Chemistry. The award recognizes his impact on teaching and learning during 23 years with the department.

Profs. Les Evans and Stewart Hilts, School of Environmental Sciences, will receive the Medal of Merit for contributions by retiring faculty members to improve the academic life and character of the University.

Prof. Richard Barham, a retired faculty member in the Department of Family Relations and Applied Nutrition, will receive an Honorary Fellowship for significant contributions to the life and development of the University.

Six retired faculty members will be named University professors emeriti: Profs. Donna Andrew, Terry Crowley and Douglas McCalla, Department of History; Profs. Ian Barker and Pat Shewen, Department of Pathobiology; and Prof. Michael Peters, Department of Psychology.

For media questions, contact Communications and Public Affairs: Lori Bona Hunt, 519-824-4120, Ext. 53338,, or Deirdre Healey, Ext. 56982,

University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1