Nine to Receive Honorary Degrees at Summer 2013 Convocation

May 31, 2013 - News Release

Renowned businesswoman Martha Billes and First Nations national chief Shawn Atleo are among nine people who will receive honorary degrees from the University of Guelph during summer convocation.

Other recipients will include Donald Rennie, judge of the Federal Court of Canada, and Steven Squyres, lead investigator for the Mars rover team.

Convocation on the main campus runs June 11 to 13 in the Gryphon Fieldhouse. More than 3,300 degrees and diplomas will be presented. Honorary degree recipients will deliver convocation addresses.

Honorary degrees will be presented to:

Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, and a promoter of education, especially for First Nations youth;

Martha Billes, U of G graduate, director and controlling shareholder of Canadian Tire Corp., philanthropist who launched Canadian Tire Jumpstart to remove barriers to sports and recreation for children;

Brian Evans, U of G graduate (Ontario Agricultural College and Ontario Veterinary College), and public health expert on the “One World, One Health” concept that focuses on health connections among animals, humans and the planet;

Peter Greenberg, microbiology professor, University of Washington in Seattle, and sociomicrobiology expert;

Barbara Iglewski, professor of microbiology and immunology, University of Rochester, and leader in bacterial pathogenesis research;

Donald Rennie, U of G graduate, Federal Court judge with major contributions to justice and human rights in Canada;

Cynthia Rosenzweig, senior research scientist, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, who has written extensively on climate change;

Steven Squyres, astronomy professor, Cornell University, chair of NASA’s advisory council and co-investigator for two Mars rover instruments, including the U of G-designed alpha particle X-ray spectrometer; and

Clifford Will, distinguished professor of physics, University of Florida, an expert in theoretical physics.

Convocation ceremonies will take place as follows:


10 AM
College of Management and Economics
School of Environmental Sciences
Cynthia Rosenzweig - Doctor of Science honoris causa

1 PM
College of Social and Applied Human Sciences
Clifford Will - Doctor of Science honoris causa

4 PM
College of Physical and Engineering Science
College of Management and Economics
Steve Squyres - Doctor of Science honoris causa
Valerie Davidson - University Professor Emeritus
Anne Wilcock - University Professor Emeritus


10 AM
College of Biological Science
Barbara Iglewski - Doctor of Science honoris causa

1 PM
College of Social and Applied Human Sciences
Martha Billes - Doctor of Laws honoris causa

4 PM
Ontario Veterinary College
Brian Evans - Doctor of Laws honoris causa


10 AM
College of Arts
Donald Rennie - Doctor of Laws honoris causa

1 PM
College of Biological Science
Peter Greenberg - Doctor of Science honoris causa

4 PM
Ontario Agricultural College
Shawn Atleo - Doctor of Laws honoris causa

For media questions, contact Communications and Public Affairs: Lori Bona Hunt, 519-824-4120, Ext. 53338, or; or Kevin Gonsalves, Ext. 56982, or

University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1