Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering 2022


National Academy of Engineering 


Recognized as one of the world's preeminent awards for engineering achievement, the Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering honors an engineer whose accomplishment has significantly impacted society by improving the quality of life, providing the ability to live freely and comfortably, and/or permitting the access to information. 


National Academy of Engineering (NAE) members and non-members worldwide are eligible to receive the Draper Prize. There are no restrictions on who may nominate candidates for the Prize.


The Draper Prize is awarded biennially, the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award.

Special Notes

Please note that research activities carried out in the context of COVID-19 need to adhere to the University of Guelph COVID-19 research principles, policies, guidelines and processes as they may be updated from time to time and communicated on the Office of Research Web-Page.


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

 Please submit the nomination to the NAE Awards website. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination and OR-5 to

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online, using the application form provided on the NAE Awards website. Please submit an OR-5 and a completed application to by the external deadline. 

For More Information

For more information, contact or see the NAE website.

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Physical Sciences and Engineering