Holberg International Memorial Prize 2023


University of Bergen


The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003 and is awarded annually to a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology, either in one of these fields or through interdisciplinary work. The prize winner must have had a decisive influence on international research.



Scholars holding positions at universities and other research institutions, including academies, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize. It is not possible to nominate groups or organizations.

Self-nominations and posthumous nominations are not accepted.

Nominations are strictly confidential and should not be disclosed to the nominee or to others at any time. For information on the nomination process visit the Holberg Prize Nomination Instructions.


The prize amount is 6,000,000 NOK (approximately €600,000 EUR / $670,000 US).

Special Notes

Please note that research activities carried out in the context of COVID-19 need to adhere to the University of Guelph COVID-19 research principles, policies, guidelines and processes as they may be updated from time to time and communicated on the Office of Research web-page.


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Please submit the nomination online through the Holberg International Memorial Prize web-page by the external deadline. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination and OR-5 to research.services@uoguelph.ca.

How to Apply

Nominations are confidential and must be submitted online through the Holberg International Memorial Prize web-page. Please also submit a copy of the nomination and OR-5 to research.services@uoguelph.ca by the external deadline

For More Information

For more information, contact research.honours@uoguelph.ca or info@holbergprisen.no. Please also visit the Holberg International Memorial Prize web-page.

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Social Sciences