The Pritzker Architecture Prize 2022


The Hyatt Foundation


The purpose of this award is to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

The international prize, which is awarded each year to a living architect/s for significant achievement, was established by the Pritzker family of Chicago through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. It is granted annually and is often referred to as “architecture’s Nobel” and “the profession’s highest honor.”

Program details and timeline are not yet confirmed. This information will be updated when the program launches.


The Pritzker Architecture Prize does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. The prize is awarded irrespective of nationality, race, creed, or ideology. Nominations are accepted internationally from persons of diverse fields who have a knowledge of and interest in advancing great architecture.

The Executive Director actively solicits nominations from past laureates, architects, academics, critics, politicians, professionals involved in cultural endeavors, and persons of diverse fields who have an expertise and interest in the field of architecture.

Additionally, any licensed architect may submit a nomination to the Executive Director for consideration by the jury for the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Nominations are accepted through November 1 of any given year.


The award consists of $100,000 (US) and a bronze medallion. The award is conferred on the laureate/s at a ceremony held at an architecturally significant site throughout the world.

Special Notes

Please note that research activities carried out in the context of COVID-19 need to adhere to the University of Guelph COVID-19 research principles, policies, guidelines and processes as they may be updated from time to time and communicated on the Office of Research webpage


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Please submit the nomination directly to the Pritzker Architecture Prize website nomination web-page. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination and OR-5 to

How to Apply

Please submit the nomination directly to the Pritzker Architecture Prize website nomination web-page by the external deadline. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination and OR-5 to by the external deadline.

For More Information

For more information, contact or see the Pritzker Architecture Prize website

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Physical Sciences and Engineering