Russ Prize 2021-2022


National Academy of Engineering 


Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize


The Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize, established in October 1999, is named after Fritz Russ, an esteemed engineer and founder of Systems Research Laboratories, and his wife Dolores Russ, a long-time supporter and benefactor of the engineering industry.

The NAE established the prize at the request of Ohio University to honor the Russes for their dedication to education and the field of engineering. Fritz Russ graduated from Ohio University in 1942 with a B.S. in electrical engineering.

The Russ Prize recognizes an outstanding bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life.  An auxiliary purpose of the Russ Prize is to encourage collaboration between the engineering and medical/biological professions to work closely together.


There are no restrictions on who may nominate candidates for the Prize. NAE members and non-members worldwide are eligible to receive the Russ Prize.

The Russ Prize will recognize achievements in bioengineering in its initial years. Examples of bioengineering include research, education, or product development in such areas as biomedical instrumentation, separation, and control systems; aerospace biomedical engineering; diagnostic technologies; applied genetic engineering; pharmaceutical processing; prosthetic technologies; biomolecular engineering; medical engineering; and applied physiological systems.

The Russ Prize is awarded for a specific achievement or for a series of achievements in bioengineering, and may be awarded to an individual or a group of individuals contributing to the same achievement(s). The Russ Prize is not awarded posthumously. Recipients of the Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering are not eligible for the Russ Prize. NAE members and non-members world-wide are eligible to receive the Russ Prize.


Awarded biennially (odd number years), the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award and a commemorative medallion. NAE members and non-members worldwide are eligible to receive the Russ Prize.

Special Notes

Please note that research activities carried out in the context of COVID-19 need to adhere to the University of Guelph COVID-19 research principles, policies, guidelines and processes as they may be updated from time to time and communicated on the Office of Research web-page


If College-level review is required, your College will communicate its earlier internal deadlines.

External Deadline

Please submit the nomination directly to the NAE Russ Prize website. Please also submit a copy of the full nomination and OR-5 to

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online, using the application form provided on the NAE Russ Prize website. Please submit an OR-5 and a completed application to by the external deadline. 

For More Information

For more information, contact or see the NAE Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize​ website

Alert Classifications
Honours and Awards

Health and Life Sciences
Physical Sciences and Engineering