Presidential Selection Committee Seeks Input

March 11, 2013 - Campus Bulletin

The selection committee for the University of Guelph’s eighth president and vice-chancellor is seeking input and advice from the University community. The information will be used to help develop the mandate and profile for hiring the next president.

Two town hall meetings are scheduled on April 4 to allow faculty, staff, students and alumni to share their perspectives. The meetings will be held at 1:30 and 2:30 p.m., each lasting one hour, in Peter Clark Hall. People are welcome to attend either or both of the meetings.

Specifically, the selection committee would like input on:
• Leadership, qualifications and personal characteristics desired in the next president;
• Strengths, opportunities and challenges that the University should build upon and address;
• The University’s uniqueness and ideas to enhance its differentiation; and
• Short- and long-term priorities of the president.

Comments and suggestions will be used to inform the selection process. Input may also be submitted electronically. An email address and additional information about the committee’s consultations may be found on the presidential selection website.The committee will communicate regularly with the University community via the website.

Members of the presidential selection committee are Board of Governors chair Dick Freeborough, chair of the presidential selection committee; Anita Acai, fourth-year B.Sc. co-op student; Graham Badun, a member of the Board of Governors; Prof. Julia Christensen Hughes, dean of the College of Management and Economics; Prof. Cate Dewey, chair of the Department of Population Medicine; Linda Hawkins, director of the Institute for Community Engaged Scholarship, College of Social and Applied Human Sciences; Lisa Kellenberger, a PhD student in the Department of Biomedical Sciences; Virginia McLaughlin, Board of Governors vice-chair and chair of the board’s governance committee; Brad Rooney, president of the University of Guelph Alumni Association; and Prof. Byron Sheldrick, chair of the Department of Political Science.

The group will recommend a presidential candidate to the Board of Governors. Under the University of Guelph Act, the board is responsible for appointing a president.

The new president is expected to be in place by summer 2014, when Alastair Summerlee’s second term will end.

University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1