Chancellor Selection Committee Seeks Ideas, Nominations

September 09, 2011 - Campus Bulletin

The search for the next University of Guelph chancellor is underway, and the University community is invited to provide comments and suggestions.

A Chancellor Selection Committee will nominate one candidate to Senate in the next year for election to the office. Established by Senate and chaired by president Alastair Summerlee, the committee consists of elected faculty, staff, Board of Governors representatives, alumni, and undergraduate and graduate students.

A new website updates the community on the search. The University community is encouraged to review information about the search process, nominate candidates and suggest characteristics that would help define the new chancellor.

The search committee will meet regularly this fall to review submissions. Besides Summerlee, the committee members are as follows:

  • Prof. George Harauz, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology;
  • Prof. Alan Ker, chair, Department of Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics;
  • Prof. Jacqueline Murray, Department of History and director of the First-Year Seminars program;
  • Guillaume Blais, undergraduate student, biomedical science and political science;
  • Jessica Carter, undergraduate student, international development;
  • Amir Mostaghim, graduate student, Department of Sociology and Anthropology;
  • Dick Freeborough, B of G chair;
  • Brad Rooney, U of G alumnus; and
  • Katherine Ferus, a staff member in the dean's office in the College of Social and Applied Human Sciences.

For information about the search process, contact the University Secretariat at

University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1