Presidential Selection Committee Named

January 30, 2013 - Campus Bulletin

The members of the University of Guelph’s presidential selection committee have been confirmed. The group will conduct a search and recommend a presidential candidate to the Board of Governors.

The committee includes three tenured faculty, two students and one full-time staff member, all elected by the University’s Senate. Two external members were appointed by the chair of the Board of Governors, who is also a selection committee member. One member has been named by the U of G Alumni Association (UGAA).

Committee members are the following:

  • Dick Freeborough, B of G chair and chair of the presidential selection committee;
  • Anita Acai, fourth-year B.Sc. co-op student;
  • Graham Badun, member, Board of Governors;
  • Prof. Julia Christensen Hughes, dean of the College of Management and Economics;
  • Prof. Cate Dewey, chair of the Department of Population Medicine;
  • Linda Hawkins, director, Institute for Community Engaged Scholarship, College of Social and Applied Human Sciences;
  • Lisa Kellenberger, PhD student, Department of Biomedical Sciences;
  • Virginia McLaughlin, Board of Governors vice-chair and chair of the B of G governance committee;
  • Brad Rooney, UGAA president; and
  • Prof. Byron Sheldrick, chair of the Department of Political Science.

Under the University of Guelph Act, the Board of Governors is responsible for appointing a president.

The new president is expected to be in place by summer 2014, when Alastair Summerlee’s second term will end.

Among the selection committee’s first tasks are determining general characteristics and capabilities required in a candidate, and soliciting comment from the University community.

The committee will communicate regularly with the University community via the Presidential Selection Committee website.

University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1