HomeGryphLifeReligious Holidays

Religious Holidays

2021-2022 Multi-Faith Religious Holidays Calendar

Date

Holiday

Religious, Spiritual or Worldview Tradition

 

2022

Friday, January 7 Christmas 
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Orthodox)
Sunday, January 9 Birthday of Guru Gobind Singh Ji Sikhism
Friday, January 14 Maghi Sikhism
Friday, January 14 Makar Sankranti
Religious accommodation recommended.
Hinduism
Friday, January 28 Mahayana New Year
Religious accommodation recommended.
Buddhism
Saturday, February 12 Lunar New Year Buddhism
Wednesday, February 16 Vasanta Panchami Hinduism
Sunday, February 27 Magha Puja Day Buddhism
Tuesday, March 1 Laylat al Miraj Islam
Wednesday, March 16 at Sundown -
Thursday, March 17 at Sundown
Purim Judaism
Friday, March 18 at Sundown - 
Saturday, March 19 at Sundown
Laylat al Baraat Islam
Saturday, March 19 Holi 
Religious accommodation recommended.
Hinduism/Sikhism
Monday, March 21 Naw-Ruz Baha'i
Friday, April 1 at Sundown - 
Saturday, April 30 at Sundown
Ramadan
Religious accommodation recommended.
Islam
Thursday, April 14 Vaisakhi
Religious accommodation recommended.
Hinduism
Friday, April 15 Good Friday
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Friday, April 15 at Sundown -
Saturday, April 23 at Sundown
Passover/Pesach
Religious accommodation recommended, particularly for first two days (April 15th sundown - April 17 sundown) and last two days (April 21 sundown - April 23 sundown).
Judaism
Sunday, April 17 Easter
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Thursday, April 21 Ridvan (1st day)
Religious accommodation recommended.
Baha'i
Friday, April 22 Good Friday
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Orthodox)
Sunday, April 24 Easter
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Orthodox)
Wednesday, April 27 at Sundown -
Thursday, April 28 at Sundown
Yom HaShoah Judaism
Friday, April 29 Ridvan (9th day)
Religious accommodation recommended.
Baha'i
Friday, April 29 Laylat al Qadr Islam
Monday, May 2 Ridvan (12th day)
Religious accommodation recommended.
Baha'i
Monday May 2 at Sundown -
Tuesday, May 3 at Sundown
Eid Al-Fitr
Religious accommodation recommended.
Islam
Tuesday, May 24 Declaration of the Bab
Religious accommodation recommended.
Baha'i
Thursday, May 26 Wesak / Vesak - Buddha Day
Religious accommodation recommended.
Buddhism
Sunday, May 29 Ascension of Baha'u'llah
Religious accommodation recommended.
Baha'i
Saturday, June 4 at Sundown -
Monday, June 6 at Sundown
Shavuot
Religious accommodation recommended.
Judaism
Sunday, June 5 Pentecost Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Sunday, June 12 Pentecost Christianity (Orthodox)
Saturday, July 9 at Sundown - 
Wednesday, July 13 at Sundown
Eid al-Adha
Religious accommodation recommended.
Islam
Sunday, July 10 Martyrdom of the Bab
Religious accommodation recommended.
Baha'i
Sunday, July 24 Asalha Puja Day Buddhism
Saturday, July 30 Al Hijra / Muharram Islam
Saturday, August 6 at Sundown - 
Sunday, August 7 at Sundown
Tish a B'Av
Religious accommodation recommended.
Judaism
Friday, August 19 Sri Krishna Jayanti / Janmashtami
Religious accommodation recommended.
Hinduism

2022-2023 Multi-Faith Religious Holidays Calendar

Date

Holiday

Religious, Spiritual or Worldview Tradition

2022

Sunday, September 25 at Sundown - 
Tuesday, September 27 at Sundown
Rosh Hashanah
Recommended accommodations: avoid scheduling important academic deadlines, events, or activities on this date.
Judaism
Monday, September 26 - 
Tuesday, October 4
Navaratri Hinduism
Tuesday, October 4 at Sundown - 
Wednesday, October 5 at Sundown
Yom Kippur
Religious accommodation recommended
Judaism
Wednesday, October 5 Dasara Hinduism
Friday, October 7 at Sundown - 
Saturday, October 8 at Sundown
Mawlid al-Nabi Islam
Sunday, October 9 at Sundown - 
Sunday, October 16 at Sundown
Sukkot
Religious accommodation recommended
Judaism
Sunday, October 16 at Sundown - 
Tuesday, October 18 at Sundown
Shemini Atzeret
Simchat Torah
Religious accommodation recommended
Judaism
Wednesday, October 20 Installation of the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji
Religious accommodation recommended
Sikhism
Monday, October 24 Diwali
Religious accommodation recommended
Hinduism/Sikhism
Tuesday, November 1  All Saints Day Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Wednesday, November 2 All Souls Day Christianity (Roman Catholic)
Tuesday, November 8 Birthdate of Guru Nanak Dev Ji
Religious accommodation recommended
Sikhism
Thursday, November 24 Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji
Religious accommodation recommended
Sikhism
Sunday, December 18 at Sundown - 
Monday, December 26 at Sundown 
Hanukkah Judaism
Sunday, December 25 Christmas 
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)

2023

Thursday, January 5 Birthday of Guru Gobind Singh Ji Sikhism
Saturday, January 7 Christmas 
Religious accommodation recommended
Christianity (Orthodox)
Saturday, January 7 Mahayana New Year
Religious accommodation recommended
Buddhism
Friday, January 13 Maghi Sikhism
Sunday, January 15 Makar Sankranti
Religious accommodation recommended
Hinduism
Sunday, January 22  Lunar New Year Buddhism
Wednesday, January 25 Vasanta Panchami Hinduism
Saturday, February 18 Laylat al Miraj Islam
Monday, March 6  Magha Puja Day Buddhism
Monday, March 6 at Sundown -
Tuesday, March 7 at Sundown
Purim Judaism
Tuesday, March 7 Holi 
Religious accommodation recommended.
Hinduism/Sikhism
Tuesday, March 7 at Sundown - 
Wednesday, March 8 at Sundown
Laylat al Baraat Islam
Tuesday, March 21 Naw-Ruz Baha'i
Wednesday, March 22 at Sundown - 
Thursday, April 20 at Sundown 
Ramadan
Religious accommodation recommended.
Islam
Wednesday, April 5 at Sundown -
Thursday, April 13 at Sundown
Passover/Pesach
Religious accommodation recommended, particularly for first two days (April 5 sundown - April 7 sundown) and last two days (April 11 sundown - April 13 sundown)
Judaism
Friday, April 7 Good Friday
Religious accommodation recommended.
Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Sunday, April 9 Easter
Religious accommodation recommended
Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Friday, April 14 Vaisakhi
Religious accommodation recommended
Hinduism
Friday, April 14 Good Friday
Religious accommodation recommended
Christianity (Orthodox)
Sunday, April 16 Easter
Religious accommodation recommended
Christianity (Orthodox)
Monday, April 17 Laylat al Qadr Islam
Monday, April 17 at Sundown -
Tuesday, April 18 at Sundown
Yom HaShoah Judaism
Friday, April 21  Ridvan (1st day)
Religious accommodation recommended
Baha'i
Friday April 21 at Sundown -
Saturday, April 22 at Sundown
Eid Al-Fitr
Religious accommodation recommended
Islam
Saturday, April 29 Ridvan (9th day)
Religious accommodation recommended
Baha'i
Tuesday, May 2 Ridvan (12th day)
Religious accommodation recommended
Baha'i
Friday, May 5 Wesak / Vesak - Buddha Day
Religious accommodation recommended
Buddhism
Wednesday, May 24 Declaration of the Bab
Religious accommodation recommended
Baha'i
Thursday, May 25 at Sundown -
Saturday, May 27 at Sundown
Shavuot
Religious accommodation recommended
Judaism
Sunday, May 28 Pentecost Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic)
Monday, May 29  Ascension of Baha'u'llah
Religious accommodation recommended
Baha'i
Sunday, June 4 Pentecost Christianity (Orthodox)
Wednesday, June 28 at Sundown - 
Sunday, July 2 at Sundown
Eid al-Adha
Religious accommodation recommended.
Islam
Monday, July 3 Asalha Puja Day Buddhism
Monday, July 10 Martyrdom of the Bab
Religious accommodation recommended
Baha'i
Wednesday, July 19 Al Hijra / Muharram Islam
Wednesday, July 26 at Sundown - 
Thursday, July 27 at Sundown
Tish a B'Av
Religious accommodation recommended
Judaism
Wednesday, September 6 Sri Krishna Jayanti / Janmashtami
Religious accommodation recommended.
Hinduism