Michael Denk

Prof Denk
Phone number: 
519-824-4120 ext. 53820
MACN 334
MACN 345


M.Sc. at the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich, Germany (1989), Ph.D. at the Technical University of Munich (1992), advised by W. Herrmann


Our two current research areas are interdisciplinary and focus on:

A. Folate intermediates, hydrogenases and hydride transfer reactions under biological conditions.  

B. Prebiotic transition metal chemistry

This research has evolved over the last decades from the following research projects.  

  1. Carbenes and their "heavy" relatives (R2M: with M = C, Si, P+, Ge, Sn and transition metals).
  2. Stabilization of highly reactive species through bulky amido substituents.
  3. Synthesis of novel volatile compounds as CVD precursors for microelectronic materials
  4. Generation of Ge-Si and Ge-C thin films for semiconductor and solar cell technology, synthesis of new precursors for electronic grade thin silicon films.
  5. Generation of superhard, oxidation resistant films based on boron and titanium.

Current Group Members

  • Nicholas Milutinovic
  • Katherine Marczenko
  • Mikhail Derevankin

Past Group Members

  • Nicole Rodriguez
  • Ian Watson
  • Gabriel Slater-Eddy
  • Rohail Nawaz
  • Natalie Sadowski
  • Blaine Fiss
  • Yana Freudiger
  • Melissa Ignacio
  • Marc Baumeister
  • Kevin Scotland
  • Jeff Hastie
  • Ben Machin
  • Azardokht Hezarkhani
  • Feng Lan Zheng
  • Ye Xuan
  • Dr. Debyani Niyogi
  • Dr. Nishi Gill
  • Dr. Gurmit Singh
  • Dr. Gamil Al Hakimi
  • Mike Krause
  • Dr. Yue Hui-Zhou
  • Dr. Sabhia Tajammul
  • Sebastien Fournier-Bidoz
  • Shilpi Gupta
  • Dr. Ravi Ramachandran
  • John Brownie
  • Dr. Ken Hatano
  • Jose Rodezno

Collaborators Past And Present

  • Dr. Jennifer Green (Dept. of Chemistry, Oxford University)
  • Prof. Larissa Leites (Nesmeyanov Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow)
  • Dr. Sergey S. Bukalov (Nesmeyanov Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow)
  • Prof. Bob West (University of Wisconsin at Madison)
  • Prof. Adam Hitchcock (McMaster University, Hamilton)
  • Prof. Athansios Paschos (McMaster University, Hamilton)
  • Prof. Arne Haaland (University of Oslo)
  • Prof. Alexander Filippou (Bonn University, Germany)
  • Prof. Stephen Urquhart (Canadian Light Source, Saskatoon)
  • Dr.Bahman Solouki (Institut für Anorganische Chemie, Universität Frankfurt)
  • Prof.Hans Bock (Institut für Anorganische Chemie, Universität Frankfurt)
  • Prof. De Tong Jiang (University of Guelph, Dept. of Physics)v
  • Prof. John Kouvetakis (Arizona State University, Dept. of Chemistry)
  • Dr. Athanasios Paschos (McMaster University, Department of Biology