Facility Orientation and Workshop Schedule

Welcome to the Training Program and Workshop Schedule for the 2019 Winter semester!

  • The Training program designed to provide instruction, supervision and access to resources. Online coursesworkshops and orientations are free of charge and open to all individuals involved with the care and use of animals for research and teaching at the University of Guelph.
  • Practical training of introductory skills is offered in ‘Workshop A’ for handling and restraint, and in ‘Workshop B’ for procedures and techniques. Training for advanced procedures and techniques for ‘Anesthesia’,  ‘Surgery’, and ‘Breeding’ workshops require the completion of level A and B.
  • Orientation to the Animal Facility (1. – 5.) is mandatory for gaining access to the facility and is a prerequisite to any hands-on workshops. Register only for the facility where you will work.
  • To register, go to Eventlink. Please note that registration for workshops will close 3-4 working days before the scheduled date. 
  • During the registration process be sure to indicate the name of your supervisor, and the number of the Animal Utilization Protocol (AUP) under which you conduct your research.
  • To access to course content, go to  Courselink. It is available 24 hours after the registration. You are expected to review the material prior to attending the workshop.
  • For other training opportunities including mentor-facilitated training (MFT) - contact training@uoguelph.ca

Register for Training

Workshop List

1. Orientation to Animal Biosciences - ABSc

Location: Animal Biosciences – Bld #70, meet in ANNU lobby

Dates Offered

  • Thur. August 29, 2019
  • Thur. September 12, 2019
  • Thur. October 10, 2019
  • Thur. October 31, 2019
  • Thur. November 21, 2019

All sessions at 2:15pm - 3:15pm

2. Orientation to Central Animal Facility - CAF

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) – meet at the entrance

Dates offered

  • Tues. August 27, 2019
  • Tues. September 10, 2019
  • Tues. October 1, 2019
  • Tues. October 22, 2019
  • Tues. November 19, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am - 10:15am

3. Orientation to Human Health and Nutritional Sciences - HHNS

Location: HHNS - Bld #70, meet outside of Rm #370

Dates Offered

  • Tues. August 27, 2019
  • Tues. September 10, 2019
  • Tues. October 1, 2019
  • Tues. October 22, 2019
  • Tues. November 19, 2019

All sessions at 1:00pm - 2:00pm

4. Orientation to Campus Animal Isolation Unit

Location: Isolation Unit – meet at the entrance, 34 McIntosh Lane, Bld #146

Dates offered

  • Tues. August 27, 2019
  • Tues. September 10, 2019
  • Tues. October 1, 2019
  • Tues. October 22, 2019
  • Tues. November 19, 2019

All sessions at 10:30am - noon

5. Orientation to Hagen Aqualab

Location: Hagen Aqualab, meet in main entrance

Dates Offered

  • T.B.A.

Mouse A

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - Room 108

Dates Offered

  • Wed. August 21, 2019
  • Wed. September 11, 2019
  • Wed. October 16, 2019
  • Wed. November 6, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mouse B

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108

Dates Offered

  • Wed. August 28, 2019
  • Wed. September 18, 2019
  • Wed. October 23, 2019
  • Wed. November 13, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rat A

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. August 22, 2019
  • Thurs. September 12, 2019
  • Thurs. October 17, 2019
  • Thurs. November 7, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rat B

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. August 29, 2019
  • Thurs. September 19, 2019
  • Thurs. October 24, 2019
  • Thurs. November 14, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rodents C - Surgery and Post-operative Care

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - meet at the entrance

Dates Offered

  • Mon. August 19, 2019
  • Mon. September 16, 2019
  • Mon. October 21, 2019
  • Mon. November 4, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rodent Anesthesia

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - meet at the entrance

Dates Offered

  • Mon. August 26, 2019
  • Mon. September 23, 2019
  • Mon. October 28, 2019
  • Mon. November 11, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Breeding Colony Techniques in Mice

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108

Dates Offered

  • Mon. September 16, 2019
  • Mon. October 21, 2019
  • Mon. November 4, 2019

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Poultry A and Orientation to Arkell Poultry Unit

Location: Arkell Research Station - Poultry Unit

Dates Offered

  • Wed. September 25, 2019
  • Wed. October 23, 2019
  • Wed. November 6, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am - noon

Poultry B 

Location: Arkell Research Station - Poultry Unit

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. September 26, 2019
  • Thurs. October 24, 2019
  • Thurs. November 7, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am – 11:00am

Swine Workshop A and Orientation to Arkell Swine Unit

Location: Arkell Research Station - Swine Unit

Dates Offered

  • Wed. October 9, 2019 
  • Wed. November 13, 2019

All sessions at 1:00pm - 3:30pm

Swine Workshop B

Location: Arkell Research Station - Swine Unit

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. October 10, 2019 
  • Thurs. November 14, 2019 

All sessions at 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Cattle A and Orientation to Elora Research Facilities

Location: Elora Research Facilities – Beef/Dairy 

Dates Offered

  • Wed. October 2, 2019
  • Wed. November 27, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am - noon

Cattle - Beef B

Location:  Elora Research Facilities -  Beef Research Center

Dates Offered

  • Wed. October 2, 2019
  • Wed. November 27, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am - noon

Cattle - Dairy B

Location: Elora Research Facilities - Dairy Research Station

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. October 3, 2019
  • Thurs. November 28, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am - noon.  Please note that these dates may change.

Sheep A and Orientation to Ponsonby Sheep Unit

Location: Ponsonby - Sheep Unit

Dates Offered

  • Wed. October 2 , 2019
  • Thurs. October 31, 2019

All sessions at 9:00am - 10:30am

Sheep B

Location: Ponsonby - Sheep Unit

Dates Offered

  • Wed. October 2, 2019
  • Thurs. October 31, 2019

All sessions at 10:30am - noon

Horse Workshop A

Location: Barn 37 and Clinical Skills Building

Date Offered

  • Thurs. September 19, 2019 10:30am - noon

Horse Workshop B

Location: Barn 37 and Clinical Skills Building

Date Offered

  • Thurs. September 19, 2019 10:30am - noon

Fish Workshop A

Location:  T.B.A.

Dates Offered

  • T.B.A.

Fish Workshop B

Location:  T.B.A.

Dates Offered

  • T.B.A.

AUP Writing

Location:  T.B.A.

Dates Offered

  • T.B.A.