Facility Orientation and Workshop Schedule

Animal User Training

Training requirements must be fulfilled before individuals are granted the privilege of working with, and caring for animals through their activities or employment with the University of Guelph. The purpose of the training is to foster a philosophy of compassion and respect for the animals and for all individuals to develop competency in handling and procedural practices.

Welcome to the Training Program and Workshop Schedule for the 2020 Fall semester!

  • The animal user training program designed to provide instruction, supervision and access to resources. Online coursesworkshops and orientations are free of charge and open to all individuals involved with the care and use of animals for research and teaching at the University of Guelph.
  • Practical training of introductory skills is offered in 'Workshop A' for handling and restraint, and in 'Workshop B' for procedures and techniques. Training for advanced procedures and techniques for 'Anesthesia', 'Surgery', and 'Breeding' workshops require the completion of level A and B.
  • Orientation to the Animal Facility is mandatory for gaining access to the facility.
  • Self-enrolment in training sessions through registration in Eventlink is closed. Students and eligible researchers waiting to participate in training will instead be assigned to the appropriate training events based on the information submitted in the Animal Utilization Protocol (AUP)The Principal Investigator (PI) will be contacted by our training office training@uoguelph.ca to clarify training requirement. Once relevant training has been determined, participants will be given a specific date and time for training, and both PI and trainee will be contacted.
  • Registration for the online Core Modules in Eventlink remains available.

Workshop List

1. Orientation to Animal Biosciences - ABSc

Location: Animal Biosciences – Bld #70, meet in ANNU lobby - 553 Gordon Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Thur. January 16, 2020
  • Thur. February 6, 2020
  • Thur. March 19, 2020
  • Thur. April 9, 2020
  • Thur. May 7, 2020

All sessions at 2:30pm - 3:30pm

2. Orientation to Central Animal Facility - CAF

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) – meet at the entrance - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates offered

  • Tues. January 14, 2020
  • Tues. February 4, 2020
  • Tues. March 3, 2020
  • Tues. March 31, 2020
  • Tues. April 21, 2020
  • Tues. May 5, 2020

All sessions at 9:00am - 10:15am

3. Orientation to Human Health and Nutritional Sciences - HHNS

Location: HHNS - Bld #70, meet outside of room #370 - 553 Gordon Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Tues. January 14, 2020
  • Tues. February 4, 2020
  • Tues. March 3, 2020
  • Tues. March 31, 2020
  • Tues. May 5, 2020

All sessions at 1:00pm - 2:00pm

4. Orientation to Campus Animal Isolation Unit

Location: Isolation Unit – meet at the entrance, 34 McIntosh Lane, Guelph, Bld #146

Dates offered

  • Tues. January 14, 2020
  • Tues. February 4, 2020
  • Tues. March 3, 2020
  • Tues. March 31, 2020
  • Tues. April 21, 2020
  • Tues. May 5, 2020

All sessions at 10:30am - 12:00pm

5. Orientation to Hagen Aqualab

Location: Hagen Aqualab, meet in main entrance - 20 Christie Lane, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • TBA

Mouse A Workshop

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - Room 108 - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Wed. January 15, 2020
  • Thurs. February 6, 2020
  • Wed. March 4, 2020

Above sessions at 9:30am - 12:00pm

  • Thurs. March 26, 2020
  • Wed. April 22, 2020
  • Thurs. May 14, 2020

Above sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mouse B Workshop

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108 - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Wed. January 22, 2020
  • Thurs. February 13, 2020
  • Wed. March 11, 2020

Above sessions at 9:30am - 12:00pm

  • Thurs. April 2, 2020
  • Wed. April 29, 2020
  • Thurs. May 21, 2020

Above sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rat A

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108 - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. January 16, 2020
  • Wed. February 5, 2020
  • Thurs. March 5, 2020

Above sessions at 9:30am - 12:00pm

  • Wed. March 25, 2020
  • Thurs. April 23, 2020
  • Wed. May 13, 2020

Above sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rat B

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108 - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. January 23, 2020
  • Wed. February 12, 2020
  • Thurs. March 12, 2020

Above sessions at 9:30am - 12:00pm

  • Wed. April 1, 2020
  • Thurs. April 30, 2020
  • Wed. May 20, 2020

Above sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rodent Surgery and Post-operative Care Workshop

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - meet at the entrance - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Mon. January 20, 2020
  • Tues. February 11, 2020
  • Mon. March 16, 2020
  • Mon. March 30, 2020
  • Mon. May 4, 2020
  • Wed. June 10, 2020

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mouse Breeding Colony Techniques Workshop

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - meet at the entrance - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Mon. January 20, 2020
  • Tues. February 11, 2020
  • Mon. March 16, 2020
  • Mon. March 30, 2020
  • Mon. May 4, 2020

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rodent Anesthesia Workshop - Mice

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108 - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Mon. February 10, 2020
  • Mon. March 23, 2020
  • Mon. May 11, 2020

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Rodent Anesthesia Workshop - Rat

Location: Central Animal Facility (CAF) - room 108 - 81 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Mon. January 27, 2020
  • Mon. March 2, 2020
  • Mon. April 27, 2020

All sessions at 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Poultry A Workshop and Orientation to Arkell Poultry Unit

Location: Arkell Research Station - Poultry Unit - 483 Arkell Road, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Wed. January 22, 2020
  • Thurs. February 13, 2020
  • Thurs. March 12, 2020
  • Wed. April 22, 2020
  • Wed. May 14, 2020

All sessions at 9:00am - 12:00pm

Poultry B Workshop

Location: Arkell Research Station - Poultry Unit - 483 Arkell Road, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. January 23, 2020
  • Thurs. April 23, 2020

Above sessions at 9:00am – 11:00am

  • Thurs. February 13, 2020
  • Thurs. March 12, 2020
  • Thurs. May 14, 2020

Above sessions at 1:00pm – 3:00pm

Swine A Workshop and Orientation to Arkell Swine Unit

Location: Arkell Research Station - Swine Unit - 483 Arkell Road, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Tues. January 21, 2020 
  • Tues. March 10, 2020
  • Wed. April 8, 2020
  • Wed. May 6, 2020

All sessions at 1:00pm - 3:30pm

Swine B Workshop

Location: Arkell Research Station - Swine Unit - 483 Arkell Road, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. January 23, 2020
  • Thurs. March 5, 2020
  • Thurs. April 9, 2020
  • Thurs. May 7, 2020

All sessions at 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Dairy A Workshop and Orientation to Elora Dairy Research and Innovation Centre

Location: Elora Research Facilities – Beef/Dairy - 6185 2 Line, Centre Wellington, ON

Dates Offered

  • Wed. February 5, 2020
  • Wed. March 18, 2020
  • Wed. April 1, 2020
  • Wed. May 20, 2020

All sessions at 8:30am - 10:30am

Dairy B Workshop

Location: Elora Beef Research Center - 6258 2 Line, Centre Wellington, ON

Dates Offered

  • Thurs. February 6, 2020
  • Thurs. March 19, 2020
  • Thurs. April 2, 2020
  • Thurs. May 21, 2020

All sessions at 8:30am - 10:30am

Beef A Workshop and Orientation to Elora Beef Research and Innovation Centre

Location: Elora Beef Research Station - 6185 2 Line, Centre Wellington, ON

Dates Offered

  • Wed.  February 5, 2020
  • Wed.  March 18, 2020
  • Wed.  April 1, 2020
  • Wed.  May 20, 2020

All sessions at 8:30am - 10:30am

Beef B Workshop

Location: Elora Beef Research Center - 6258 2 Line, Centre Wellington, ON

Dates Offered

  • Wed. February 5, 2020
  • Wed. March 18, 2020
  • Wed. April 1, 2020
  • Wed. May 20, 2020

All sessions at 10:30am - 12:30pm

Sheep A Workshop and Orientation to Ponsonby Sheep Unit

Location: Ponsonby - Sheep Unit - 7534 8 Line, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Wed. February 19 , 2020
  • Thurs. March 26, 2020
  • Wed. April 29 , 2020
  • Wed. May 13, 2020

All sessions at 9:00am - 10:30am

Sheep B Workshop

Location: Ponsonby - Sheep Unit - 7534 8 Line, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • Wed. February 19, 2020
  • Thurs. March 26, 2020
  • Wed. April 29, 2020
  • Wed. May 13, 2020

All sessions at 10:30am - 12:00pm

Horse A Workshop

Location: Barn 37 and Clinical Skills Building - 96 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Date Offered

  • Tues. January 21, 2020
  • Tues. March 24, 2020
  • Tues. May 26, 2020

All sessions at 10:00am - 11:00am

Horse B Workshop

Location: Barn 37 and Clinical Skills Building - 96 McGilvray Street, Guelph

Date Offered

  • Tues. January 21, 2020
  • Tues. March 24, 2020
  • Tues. May 26, 2020

All sessions at 11:00am - 12:00pm

Fish Workshop

Location: Alma Research Station - 6957 8 Line W, Elora

Dates Offered

  • TBA

Zebrafish Workshop

Location: Hagen Aqualab - meet in main entrance - 20 Christie Ln, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • TBA

AUP Writing

Location: Axelrod Institute of Ichthyology - 12 Christie Ln, Guelph

Dates Offered

  • TBA