May 17: The 2010 Arrow Prize for Junior Economists

Posted on Tuesday, May 17th, 2011

Congratulations go to University of Guelph Professor Miana Plesca and former PhD student Burc Kayahan (now Assistant Professor at Acadia University). Their paper, "The Impact of Aggregate and Sectoral Fluctuations on Training Decisions" has been selected as one the two finalists for the 2010 Kenneth J Arrow Prize for Junior Economists. Berkeley Electronic Press awards this prize every year for the very best work published in their economics journals. The Arrow Prizes for Junior and Senior Economists are named in honour of Kenneth J. Arrow, who won the Nobel Prize in 1972 for his pioneering contributions to general equilibrium theory and welfare theory. Begun in 2003, the Arrow Prizes recognize two papers published each year in bepress economics journals that make an outstanding contribution to the field. The award carries an honorarium and an announcement to the bepress network of nearly 200,000 economists.

News Archive