Research Highlights

The Department of Economics and Finance is one of the most active economics research institutions in Canada, and is ranked in the top 4% worldwide by RePEc for research output.

Research Chairs and Fellowships

Four of our department members are holders of important research chairs or fellowships:

  • Rene Kirkegaard is a Canada Research Chair in Risk Management and Regulation
  • Thanasis Stengos is a University Research Chair in Econometrics
  • Two of the five CME Research Fellowships are held by DEF faculty: Ross McKitrick (Sustainable Commerce) and Michael Hoy (Management of Knowledge and Risk)

External Research Grants

Many DEF faculty are holders of external research grants:

  • SSHRC (C. Bram Cadsby, Talat Genc, Johanna Goertz, Michael Hoy, Kris Inwood, Rene Kirkegaard, Alex Maynard, Ross McKitrick, Thanasis Stengos, Ilias Tsiakas, Miana Plesca)
  • Canada Foundation for Innovation (Kris Inwood)
  • CIGI/INET (Ross McKitrick)

Other Research Activities

DEF faculty are also actively engaged in important professional research activity, such as:

  • Professor Michael Hoy is Associate Editor of Geneva Risk and Insurance Review, and is a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Economic Inequality, the Journal of Risk and Insurance, and the Geneva Papers on Risk and Insurance: Issues and Practice
  • Professor Thanasis Stengos is Co-editor of the Review of Economic Analysis, Co-editor of Ekonomia, and a member of the Editorial Boards of Journal of Applied Econometrics, Economics Letters, Empirical Economics and International Journal of Business and Economics.
  • Professor Ilias Tsiakas is a Senior Fellow, Rimini Centre for Economic Analysis
  • Professor Ross McKitrick is a Senior Fellow of the Fraser Institute and a member of the Academic Advisory Board of the John Deutsch Institute, and recently hosted the First International Workshop on Econometric Applications in Climatology at Guelph
  • Professor John Livernois is the founder of the Canadian Resources and Environmental Economics Study Group (CREE) and has hosted two of the annual CREE workshops at the University of Guelph
  • Professor Kris Inwood is Associate Editor of the Australian Economic History Review
  • Professor Louise Grogan is a Senior Research Fellow, University of Central Asia
  • Professor Brian Ferguson is an Editorial Board Member of Substance Use and Misuse
  • Professor C. Bram Cadsby is an Associate Editor, Journal of Socio-Economics and a member of the Editorial Board of New Zealand Economic Papers
  • Professor J. Atsu Amegashie is an Associate Editor of Defence and Peace Economics and a member of the Editorial Boards of the Journal of Socio-Economics and European Journal of Political Economy