August 15. Visiting Professors in DEF

The Department of Economics and Finance will have two Visiting Scholars for the academic year commencing in Fall 2012:


July 15. Amit Summan is award the Economics Alumni Masters Scholarship

The Department of Economics and Finance, with the generous support of Alumni and friends, provides this $1000 scholarship to a full-time graduate student registered in the MA program in Economics. The award is granted to the student who has attained the highest cumulative average in the first two semesters of the graduate program. Congratulations Amit!

June 15. Convocation Ceremonies and Honorary Degree Recipients

The convocation address at the Department’s undergraduate convocation ceremony was given by the honorary degree recipient, Dr. Sylvia Maracle. Dr. Maracle has contributed to the enhancement of the aboriginal community in many ways, and has set a standard of excellence in community service that merits the University's highest honour.

May 18. PhD candidate Marcel Oestreich wins best presentation award

Ph.D. candidate at the Department of Economics and Finance – Marcel Oestreich – has won the Best Presentation Award at the 1st Canadian PhD Workshop in Environmental Economics & Policy for his talk on “Firms’ Emissions and Self-reporting under Competitive Audit Mechanisms”. The workshop ran from May 10-11 at the University of Ottawa and included presentations from 20 PhD students from across North America and Europe. The award was judged by Brandon Schaufele (Research Director, Sustainable Prosperity) and keynote guest Professor Charles Mason (University of Wyoming). Way to go Marcel!

May 11. Spring Semester Visiting Speaker

Speaker: Zara Liaqat, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Economics, University of Southern California
Title: The End of MFA and Firm Performance in Textile Industry
Date: Friday May 11, 3:30-5:00pm
Location: TBA

March 27. Final Visiting Speaker Seminar for Winter Semester

  •  Speaker: Li Gan, Dean, Research Institute of Economics and Management, Southwest University of Finance and Economics, China; and Texas A&M University
  • Title: A Simple Test of Private Information in the Insurance Market with Heterogeneous Insurance Demand
  • Time and Location: March 27, 3:30-5:00pm, RozH 106

March 26. CME Fellowships Awards

Two members of the Department of Economics and Finance have recently been awarded research fellowships:

  • Dr. Mike Hoy, CME Fellow in the Management of Knowledge and Risk
  • Dr. Ross McKitrick, CME Fellow in Commerce for a Sustainable World

Fellows are appointed for a 5-year term and will be provided with a $50,000 grant to support their research activities.



March 21. Rachel Maunder awarded the Warren Jestin Scholarship

The Warren Jestin Scholarship in Canadian Economic Policy was awarded to Rachel Maunder. This scholarship is awarded to the economics student with the highest cumulative average over all courses in economic policy. Rachel is a student in the MEIF program and will be graduating this year.


March 1. Wealthier, Healthier?

Dr. Luc Moers will be giving a talk entitled, "Wealthier, Healthier?" This talk is part of the International Development Studies Speaker Series. Dr. Moers is a Visiting Scholar in the Department of Economics and Finance (on leave from IMF). The seminar will be held on Friday, March 2nd from 3:00-4:30 pm (with reception to follow) in Rozanski 102.

March 1. Economic Theory Seminar

Luciano de Castro from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University will present "A New Approach to Correlation of Types in Bayesian Games" in the Visiting Speakers Series on Friday March 2 from 3:30 pm to 5:00 pm in Mack 313.

News Archive