Discover Chemistry @ Guelph

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry at the University of Guelph!

In our department, you’ll find a dedicated community of faculty, staff, and students who are passionate about supporting each other and advancing the chemistry field through research and learning.

Our people care deeply about the world around us, and the impact that chemistry can have on improving life. Research themes in our department range from fundamental science and its applications, to human health and wellbeing, to the bioeconomy, sustainable energy, and the environment. Our undergraduate students learn from renowned faculty and gain hands-on experience during their studies. Our graduate students have access to top research facilities and collaborations while studying under leading experts. Top-notch technical, administrative, clerical, and teaching staff enable excellence in all our endeavors.

We have a culture of support, inclusion and excellence. If these values resonate with you and you have a keen interest in our chemistry specializations, join us!


  • Prof Preuss

    Research led by Dr. Kathryn Preuss, professor, Department Chair and Research Leadership Chair in the Department of Chemistry, provides important insight into non-covalent interactions between molecules.

  • The Frumkin Memorial Medal may be given once every two years. It recognises the outstanding contribution of a living individual over their life in the field of fundamental electrochemistry. The Award recognizes 38 years of research funded by NSERC Research/Discovery grants and the effort of over 30 graduate students ( 6 of them are professors at Canadian Universities) and many postdocs who returned to their countries of origin to enjoy academic careers
  • Chen is the Nominated Principal Investigator leading an interdisciplinary team including researchers from Waterloo and Twente. A total of 117 grants were awarded across Canada this year spanning a variety of disciplines within the CIHR, NSERC, and SSHRC.

  • Headshot of Jonathan Chang

    We chatted with biomedical toxicology grad Jonathan Chang about his unique career in science and tech.

  • Image of Kathryn Preuss

    Professor Kathryn Preuss named Chair, Department of Chemistry, at the University of Guelph.

Department Chair

Chair: Kathryn Preuss
Phone: 519-824-4120 ext. 53061 
Fax: 519-766-1499

During COVID-19 and frequent remote work, email communications are preferred.

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Guelph provides an inspiring learning and research environment. We aim to empower students, staff, and faculty to bring their uniqueness to our organization, helping them grow personally and professionally. We strongly believe, as a scientific community, we thrive in a collegial, collaborative, equitable, diverse, and inclusive environment, and we are committed to create such an environment for everyone in the Department.