Call for Nominations - University Awards 2023

Posted on Thursday, October 13th, 2022

The Senate Honours and Awards Committee invites nominations for the following University awards and honours to be awarded at convocation ceremonies beginning in 2023. Secondly only to honorary degrees, the awards listed below are of the highest order the University may bestow, presented publicly to recognize recipients at convocation ceremonies throughout the year.

University Professor Emeritus

The honour of University Professor Emeritus/Emerita may be given to a retired faculty member from the University of Guelph. The prime criterion for nomination will be sustained, outstanding scholarship of such a level that it is recognized internationally.

Honorary Fellow

Honorary Fellowships of the University are special awards which may be granted by Senate to persons who have made a significant contribution to the life and development of the University.

John Bell Award

The John Bell Award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding educational leadership while at the University of Guelph.  Normally, only one candidate will be recognized each year.

Lincoln Alexander Medal of Distinguished Service

The Lincoln Alexander Medal of Distinguished Service honours an individual who has played a pivotal role in the functioning of the institution and who has influenced the quality of academic life at the University of Guelph.

Medal of Merit

The Medal of Merit is awarded to a professor who has retired from the University of Guelph, and who has made outstanding contributions to teaching, the functioning of the University, or other areas which have resulted in substantial improvement to the academic life and character of the University.             

Honorary Degrees

Honorary Degrees are the highest honour bestowed within the power of the University and honours individuals whose accomplishments demonstrate a standard of excellence we hope will inspire our graduates.

A list of award recipients is available online

Complete details regarding the nomination process and criteria can be found in respective award guidelines and through the links provided above.

Questions and Submission of Nominations

Nominations must be received by January 10, 2023.

Questions and completed nominations may be submitted electronically, in confidence, to the University Secretariat at


News Archive