About the University Secretariat

The University Secretariat was established in 2006 and incorporates the activities of the former Board Office and Senate Office. The Secretariat has responsibility for supporting the work of the Board of Governors and Senate, as well as their respective committees, subcommittees, task forces and working groups. Together, these bodies make up the bicameral governance system of the University of Guelph.

This bicameral system is mandated by the University of Guelph Act (1964), which also outlines the division of responsibilities between the two governance bodies. The Senate is responsible for the academic policy of the University which includes responsibility for determining the courses of study, standards of admission and qualifications for graduation. The Board of Governors is responsible for all other aspects of the governance of the University not assigned to the Senate. This includes oversight of the management and control of the University and its property, revenues, expenditures, business and related affairs. The Board of Governors is also responsible for the operation of the Board of Trustees of the University of Guelph Heritage Fund.

In undertaking their work, both the Board of Governors and Senate are guided by the University's Mission Statement and Strategic Plan 2022-2027.

In addition to supporting the governance of the University, the Secretariat also has responsibility for the University's access to information, privacy and records management programs, including compliance with Ontario's Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

The current Interim University Secretary is Harpreet Hansra. A list of past University Secretaries is available below.

Board Secretary Senate Secretary
N.M. Sullivan (1964 - 1965) H.W. Pettipiere (1964 - 1969)
J.B. Millward (1965 - 1969)  Michael D.E. Brown (1969 - 1973)
W.W. Bean (1970 - 1976) John Carson (1973 - 1977)
C.C. Ferguson (1977 - 1984) Walter N. Vaughan (1977 - 1983)
Barbara Abercrombie (1984 -1991) Barbara Abercrombie (1985 - 1991)
Betsy Allan (1992 - 2006) Brenda Whiteside (1991 - 1998)
  Johanne Doucet (1998 - 1999)
  Irene Birell (1999 - 2005)
University Secretary
Vicki Hodgkinson (2006 - 2015)
Kate Revington (2015 - 2017)
Gen Gauthier-Chalifour (2017 - 2023)