About the Senate

The University of Guelph Senate was established through the University of Guelph Act, 1964 and is responsible for academic programs, regulations and policies.

Comprised of a membership that is representative of the University community, with both elected and ex-officio members, responsibilities of Senate include:

  • electing the Chancellor;
  • to control, regulate and determine the educational policy of the University;
  • to determine the courses of study and standards of admission to the University and continued membership therein, and qualifications for degrees and diplomas;
  • to conduct examinations and appoint examiners;
  • to deal with all matters arising in connection with the awarding of fellowships, scholarships, bursaries, medals, prizes and other awards;
  • to confer the degrees of Bachelor, Master and Doctor and all other degrees and diplomas in all branches of learning that may appropriately be conferred by a University;
  • to confer honorary degrees in any department of learning;
  • to create faculty councils or committees and committees generally to exercise its powers.

The President & Vice-Chancellor of the University is ex-officio Chair of Senate. The eighth, and current, Chair of Senate is Dr. Franco J. Vaccarino. A list of past Presidents is available below. 

John D. MacLachlan – 1964 - 1967

William (Bill) Winegard – 1967 - 1975

Donald F. Forster – 1975 - 1983

Burton C. Matthews – 1984 - 1988

Brian Segal – 1988 - 1992

Mordechai Rozanski – 1993 - 2003

Alastair Summerlee – 2003 - 2014