Under the University of Guelph Act (1964) the Senate is responsible for the election of the Chancellor. The Chancellor, subject to the will of the Senate, holds office for a renewable three year term and remains in office until their successor is elected. 

The Chancellor is the titular head of the University, and confers all degrees. The Chancellor is an ex-officio voting member of the Senate and the Board of Governors. 

The current and ninth Chancellor of the University of Guelph is Chancellor Martha Billes. 

George Drew – 1965 - 1971​
Former mayor of Guelph, premier of Ontario and Canadian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom

Emmett Hall – 1971 - 1977
Former Chief Justice of Saskatchewan and justice of the Supreme Court of Canada

Pauline McGibbon – 1977 - 1983
Former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

William Stewart – 1983 - 1989
Former Ontario Minister of Agriculture

Edmund Bovey – 1989 - 1990
Business and arts leader

Lincoln Alexander – 1991 - 2007
Former federal Minister of Labour and Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Pamela Wallin – 2007 - 2011
Senator, former Consul General of Canada in New York and former television journalist

David Mirvish – 2011 - 2017
Real estate developer, theatre producer and art collector

Contact Information

To contact the Chancellor, through the office of the VP (External), please e-mail: