Award Winners

Picture of Carolyn Trombley  in the field

Carolyn Trombley receives the Lori Ferguson Graduate Engagement Award

The recipient of this year’s Lori Ferguson Graduate Engagement Award is Carolyn Trombley! Carolyn has been a highly engaged and greatly valued member of the department who has made many contributions – not least, her leadership role in the CoBUMP student mentorship program. This is a richly deserved recognition, and IB wants to extend a huge thank you to Carolyn for all her hard work.

Photo of Jared Shaftoe in the field

Congratulations to Jared Shaftoe on receiving the Gaskin Medal in Marine and Freshwater Biology

The Gaskin Medal in Marine and Freshwater Biology is awarded to the student who graduates with the highest cumulative average in the Department of Integrative Biology's Marine and Freshwater Biology Major, this year's recipient is Jared Shaftoe. 

This award was established to honour Dr. David Gaskin, professor in the former Department of Zoology from 1968 - 1998, for his contribution to this field.

News Archive