Faculty and Librarian Nomination and Election Process

Faculty and Librarian Elections to Senate and the Board of Governors 

Nomination Period: Monday, January 17, 2022 to Wednesday, February 9, 2022 at 1:00 p.m.
Election Period: Monday, February 28, 2022 to Monday, March 7, 2022 at 1:00 p.m.

Nomination forms are still under development and will be posted here in January:

  • Senate - Faculty/Librarian Nomination Form
  • Board of Governors – Faculty Nomination Form 

Nomination and Election Process

The Board of Governors "Faculty and Staff Electoral Procedures" and the Senate "Regulations Governing the Election of Faculty, Librarians and Staff to Senate" include provisions for representation of faculty and librarians on the Board and Senate. Elections are held annually during the Winter semester. Should an insufficient number of nominations be received during the Winter election period to fill the available faculty seats, a by-election is held at the beginning of the following Fall semester.

Members of the Board of Governors cannot be an undischarged bankrupt. Board members must also abide by the Good Governance Policy for the Board of Governors and related disclosure requirements.

About Senate and Board of Governors

The University functions with a bicameral governance structure set out under the University of Guelph Act (1964), which defines the responsibilities of the Board of Governors and the Senate. Senate is responsible for academic programs, regulations, and policies, whereas the Board of Governors oversees the government, conduct, management and control of the University and its property, revenues, expenditures, business and affairs.