Endowed and externally funded research chairs

Endowed and externally funded research chairs are established through the generosity of individual and/or corporate donors. Their research focuses on topics of interest to the donor and University and brings distinction to both.

Currently, the University of Guelph endowed and externally funded research chairs are:

  • Christine Baes, The Semex – Canadian Dairy Network (CDN) – Holstein Canada Professorship in Dairy Genomics
  • Theresa Bernardo, IDEXX Chair in Emerging Technologies and Bond Centered Animal Healthcar
  • Nicolas Brunet, Latornell Professorship in Environmental Stewardship
  • Maria Corradini, The Arrell Chair in Food Quality
  • Steve Crawford, Professorship in the Department of Integrative Biology
    Saugeen Ojibway Nation
  • Brady Deaton, Michael McCain Family Chair in Food Security
  • James Fraser, Scottish Studies Foundation Chair
  • Ryan Gibson, Libro Professorship in Regional Economic Development for Southwestern Ontario
  • Ernesto Guzman, Pinchin Family Chair in Bee Health
  • Alexandra Harlander, The Burnbrae Farms Professorship in Poultry Welfare
  • A. Max Jones, Professorship in Horticulture and Plant Preservation
  • David Kelton, Chair in Dairy Cattle Health​ Dairy Farmers of Ontario
  • Elijah Kiarie, McIntosh Family Professorship in Poultry Nutrition
  • Gisèle Lapointe, Dairy Farmers of Ontario Professorship in Dairy Microbiology
    Dairy Famers of Ontario
  • Deborah Stienstra, Jarislowsky Chair in Families and Work
  • Philip Loring, The Arrell Chair in Food, Policy and Society
  • Lee Niel, Col. K. L. Campbell Chair in Companion Animal Welfare
  • Nigel Raine, Rebanks Family Chair in Pollinator Conservation
    W. Garfield Weston Foundation
  • Neil Rooney, Professorship in the School of Environmental Sciences
    Saugeen Ojibway Nation
  • Praveen Saxena, Gosling Chair in Plant Preservation
    The Gosling Foundation
  • Cynthia Scott-Dupree, Bayer CropScience Chair in Sustainable Pest Management
  • Simon Somogyi, The Arrell Chair in the Business of Food
  • Adronie Verbrugghe, Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Endowed Chair in Canine and Feline Clinical Nutrition
  • Tina Widowski, Egg Farmers of Canada Chair in Poultry Welfare
  • Catharine Wilson, Francis and Ruth Redelmeier Professorship in Rural History
  • Mary Granskou, Chair in Environmental Governance
    Kinross Gold Corp.
  • (Vacant), Loblaw Chair in Sustainable Food Production
  • (Vacant), The Barrett Family Chair in Sustainable Food Engineering
  • Lawrence Goodridge, Leung Family Professorship in Food Safety