Excellence in Undergraduate Academic Advising Medallion

The University of Guelph is pleased to recognize faculty advisors, program counsellors, or academic advising staff that contribute to providing high-quality academic advising with the Excellence in Undergraduate Academic Advising Medallion. The Excellence in Undergraduate Academic Advising Medallion is awarded annually to an individual (or advising team) who has been nominated by a member of the University community as having made an outstanding contribution to academic advising at the undergraduate level at the University of Guelph.

2023 Process Information -- 3 FEBRUARY 2023 (first Friday in February)

Terms and Conditions for this honour as well as the current year Nomination Form are included at the bottom of this page in PDF format for download. [ Revised will be uploaded by January 2023. ]

Previous Year Recipients

Year Recipient Position
2022 Dr. Martin Holland Faculty Advisor, Landscape Architecture
2021 Guelph-Humber Academic Advising Team (Nasreene Corpuz Kasznia, Brenley DiFranco, Alyson Green, Hilton Lieu, Lalita Manku, Cheryl Nicholas, Caroline Samrah-Sergnese,, Kimberley Zammit) Program Counsellor(s), various programs
2020 Shannon Lapenskie Program Counsellor, B.A.
2019 Dr. Carol Dauda (Co-Recipient)
Lisa Blenkinsop (Co-Recipient)
Faculty Advisor, Political Science (B.A.)
Faculty Advisor, International Development Studies (B.A.)
2018 Dr. Doug Goff Faculty Advisor, Food Science (B.Sc.)
2017 Linda Zehr Program Counsellor, B.A.Sc.
2016 Anita Beaudette Faculty Advisor, International Development (B.A.)
2015 B.Sc. Academic Advising Team (Rob Guthrie, Bonnie Lasby, Kelly Lucas & Heather Pollock) Program Counsellor(s), B.Sc.
2014 Kim Thompson Program Counsellor, B.Eng.
2013 Melinda Vanryn Program Counsellor, B.B.R.M. & B.Sc. Agr.
2012 Jerome Chang Program Counsellor, B.A.S.
2011 Jane Londerville Faculty Advisor, Real Estate & Housing (B.Comm.)
2010 Not awarded. -
2009 Dr. Peter Conlon Program Counsellor, D.V.M. (& OVC Associate Dean, Students)
2008 Dr. Stephen Lynch Faculty Advisor, Hospitality & Tourism Management (B.Comm.)
2007 Dr. Nathan Perkins Program Counsellor, B.L.A.
2006 Valerie Allen Faculty Advisor, Hotel & Food Administration / Tourism Management (B.Comm.)
2005 Linda Allen Program Counsellor, B.Sc. (Physical Sciences) & B.Comp.
2004 Dr. Jim Atkinson Faculty Advisor, Animal Science (B.Sc.)

Updated 12 December 2022.