University Research Leadership Chairs | College of Arts

University Research Leadership Chairs


Congratulations to Professors Dorothy Odartey-Wellington of the School of Languages and Literatures and Norman Smith of History on being awarded University Research Leadership Chairs. From nearly a dozen nominees, the College of Arts Research Advisory Council had the difficult job of selecting two candidates.

The University of Guelph resides on the land of the Between the Lakes Treaty No. 3, the territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit. This land is part of the Dish with One Spoon, a covenant between Indigenous nations to live peaceably on the territories of the Great Lakes region. We recognize that today this gathering place is home to many First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples and acknowledging them reminds us of our collective responsibility to the land where we learn, live and work.