FARE faculty and students honoured with numerous awards

At this year’s Annual Meeting of the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society, which was held jointly with the Western Agricultural Economics Association in Whistler, B.C., several FARE faculty and students received awards in recognition of their outstanding work.


Brady Deaton was named CAES Fellow. See the separate post from July 31.


Yong Liu (Ph.D. graduate, 2021) was one of two co-winners of the CAES Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award for his thesis on Estimating Conditional Crop Yield Densities and Rating Crop Insurance Contracts.”


José Nuño‐Ledesma received the Honourable Mention for the  Outstanding Journal Article Award for his 2022 article “A portion cap rule with two products: An experimental evaluation” in the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics (CJAE).


Alan Ker received the Enduring Quality Award, which is awarded to books, articles within books, and journal articles that have had a significant impact on agricultural, food and resource economics with a publish date of at least 10 years ago.


Benjamin Scott (Environmental Economics and Policy graduate, 2023) received the Book Prize Award, which recognizes and encourages the achievement of an undergraduate student in their study and application of agricultural, food or resource economics.


To round it all off, Yu Na Lee was elected into the presidential cycle as President-elect of the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society for the academic years 2023-24 to 2025-26. Shortly after the CAES meeting, Yu Na received an Outstanding Reviewer Award from the American Journal of Agricultural Economics (AJAE) at the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association in Washington, D.C.


Congratulations to all for your outstanding work and achievements!