Health and Safety Contacts


Health and Safety Contacts


In the Event of an Emergency

Dial 2000 (on-campus) or 519-840-5000 (cellphone)


Environmental Health & Safety

  • MAIN OFFICE - Alexander Hall, Rm. 162 x 52047 or x53282
  • DIRECTOR - Georga Apolonatos x 53247
  • BIO SAFETY - tba (email x53190 
  • LAB SAFETY - Alicja Zachertowska x54270 
  • RADIATION SAFETY - Ryan Das x53774
  • RESEARCH RISK - Jennifer Wesley x56401
  • OCC. HEALTH AND WELLNESS - Michael Dunstan x52133
  • FACILITIES & OCC. HYGIENE - Chris MacNeill x 58860


First Aid Stations

There are 3 locations on campus:


First Response Team


HHNS First Aiders on site

  • Premila Sathasivam, Ext.53493, Cell: 519-400-4630, OVC 2620
  • Nina Andrejic, Ext.52060, OVC 1610C
  • James Turgeon, Ext.52060, OVC 1610C
  • Angela Annis, Ext.56168, Annex 289
  • Jamie Burr, Ext.52591, Annex 263
  • Justine Tishinsky, Ext.53472, ANNU 340
  • Danyelle Liddle, Ext.56967, ANNU 304
  • Amy Tucker, Ext.53749, HNRU 142
  • Chris Norman, Ext.54233, ANNU 301


HHNS Health and Safety Committee

  • Philip Millar (faculty co-chair), Ext. 54818, ANNU 348A
  • Premila Sathasivam (staff co-chair), Ext. 53493, OVC 2620
  • Diana Philbrick (staff rep), USW, Ext.53908, ANNU 353
  • Chris Norman (staff rep), Ext.54233, ANNU 301
  • James Turgeon (staff rep), Ext.52060, OVC 1610C
  • Amy Tucker (staff rep), Ext.3749, HNRU 142
  • Barbora Hucik (grad rep), Ext.58015, ANNU 308
  • Alex Rajna (grad rep), Ext.58015, ANNU 308
  • Anne Lovett-Hutchinson (staff rep), Ext.56171, ANNU 342A

This committee helps support the safety program in the department by identifying hazards, raising safety issues, and conducting workplace inspections.

In addition to our Departmental Committee (also called Local Joint H&S Committee or LJHSC), the university has a Central Joint Health and Safety Committee.   These committees exist to represent your interests, and the interests of your colleagues.  If you have an issue you would like the committee to investigate, feel free to contact the committee chair.