2017 Schwabenbauer and Klynstra LA Awards Winners

Posted on Wednesday, January 24th, 2018

Congratulations to the recent Landscape Architecture student recipients for the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation's André Schwabenbauer and Peter Klynstra awards which were presented by Eha Naylor, LACF board member on November 16, 2017.

André Schwabenbauer Award:

Congratulations to landscape architecture students Katherine Xie in the Master of landscape architecture program; and Lindsey McCain in the Bachelor of landscape architecture program who are the recipients of the André Schwabenbauer award for 2017. 

Luozijie (Katherine) Xie is a MLA student in her final year of the program. She has a Bachelor of Horticulture degree from South China Agricultural University and was enrolled, with stunning success, in our Bachelor of Landscape Architecture program for two years. She has a distinct interest in the practice and research of landscape design.   Katherine is completing her MLA thesis evaluating urban heat islands as opportunities to extend use of public open space.

Katherine XieAbove:  Katherine Xie, MLA student.  Recipient of the 2017 André Schwabenbauer Award

Lindsey McCain is a fourth year BLA student who is an enthusiastic and hardworking student from the greater Toronto area.   Lindsey has worked for Brydges Landscape Architecture in Guelph and participated in the Internship credit, working in Park Development at the City of Mississauga in 2017. Her undergraduate honours thesis is in exploring the consequences of future abandoned or under-utilized parking lots and petro stations, as hybrid autonomous vehicles replace traditional automobiles.

Above:  Lindsey McCain, BLA student.  Recipient of the 2017 André Schwabenbauer Award.

The LACF André Schwabenbauer Scholarship was created under the auspices of the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation (LACF) in memory of the late André Schwabenbauer, a past president of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects. This annual $1,000 scholarship award is aimed at recognizing and promoting excellence in design by a student who has done distinguished work in the final year of an accredited undergraduate and graduate landscape architecture program at a Canadian university.

Peter Klynstra Memorial Award:

The Atlantic Provinces Association of Landscape Architects (APALA) and the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation (LACF) awarded the 2017 Peter Klynstra Memorial Scholarship to Aiden Fudge, a Master of Landscape Architecture candidate at the University of Guelph. 

Aiden holds a Bachelor of Arts from Acadia University, and certificate of landscape design from Ryerson University.  His research interests are examining conservation of natural and cultural landscapes in Atlantic region which are at risk due to rising sea levels and climate change.   

Above:  Aiden Fudge, MLA student.  Recipient of the 2017 Klynstra Memorial Scholarship

The Klynstra Memorial Scholarship was established by the Atlantic Provinces Association of Landscape Architects (APALA) in collaboration with the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation (LACF|FAPC).  The scholarship recognizes Peter’s long and influential career in landscape architecture and academia; inspiring clients, communities and students in Atlantic Canada.  In tribute to Peter’s influence as a mentor, the award provides an annual grant of $1000 to support an Atlantic Canadian student of landscape architecture enrolled in an accredited university program of study. For more information, please visit: http://www.apala.ca.

To make a contribution to Landscape Architecture Canada scholarships, please send your tax-deductible contribution to the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation.  Visit http://lacf.ca/membership-support/donate-now.

News Archive