LACF | FAPC Awards Four LA Scholarships

Posted on Friday, January 3rd, 2020

Landscape Architecture students were the recipients of four scholarships awarded by the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation in October. UofG professor emeritus, Cecelia Paine, and BLA program alumnus, Christine Abe, both members of the Foundation’s board of directors, presented the students with cheques of $1000 each.  MLA student, Kendra Cheeseman and BLA student Grace Christie received the University of Guelph LACF Scholarship recognizing excellence in design. BLA student Beth Bray received the inaugural Alain Lamontagne Scholarship in Landscape Architecture, which recognizes a student who has a demonstrated interest in the impact of landscape architecture on the development of social spaces. This scholarship was established by LACF board member Peter Kreuk of the Vancouver-based firm Durante Kreuk as a memorial to Alain Lamontagne, a graduate of the BLA program and employee of the firm. Affirming the quality of University of Guelph students, Kendra Cheeseman also received the LACF Peter Klynstra Memorial Scholarship, which is awarded to a student affiliated with the Atlantic Provinces.

LACF award winners and presenters holding awardsPhoto (left to right):  Cecelia Paine, Beth Bray, Kendra Cheeseman, Grace Christie and Christine Abe.

For more details on the 2019 LACF | FAPC Scholars please visit the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation website.  

News Archive